Hobbit’s feet

Ok, so…I haven’t gotten my nails done since the week before I came to Lebanon..That would be about four months ago..YIKES!  I really think my feet are beginning to resemble hobbit’s feet..and with the onset of summer..this isn’t exactly a good look..

This is very unlike me, as before I came here I would religiously go about every two weeks..or as soon as I thought I needed it..

The thing is..my one experience in a beauty salon a couple of months ago was enough to turn me off from ever going back, and I have been doing my own nails and whatever beautification I need ever since!..Not the end of the world, I know…but here maintenance is veryy important.  For men and women alike.

You see, I was sitting there getting my hair done..and marveling how women come to the Salon dressed to the nines, whip out their cigarettes, sip on their turkish coffee, and chatter away..while four men (that was another shocker, to learn that being a hairdresser here is considered a “man’s job”)  cater to their every whim and fancy..

In Miami, we have this sort of code..that when you are going to get your nails done..you are allowed to look like crap, and to be anti-social..as its probably the first time in weeks that you have gotten a relaxing moment to yourself..I was hoping that same rule applied here..but apparently NOT.

So, I was sitting there taking this all in..and..I have to admit, I’m quite opposite to the Lebanese women in that, having four men around me looking at my split ends makes me,,well..rather uncomfortable..I kinda wanted to disappear and get out as soon as possible..

Well my feeling of unease and discomfort was amplified when a woman in all of her splendor, decided to check herself out IN MY MIRROR..and ask the men whether they thought she looked better as a blonde or a brunette..I mean, really?  I can’t chock this one up to “cultural differences” she had to know she was being a rather big B.

But as most of the people involved in some kind of service industry do..they gave in to her need for validation and politely replied..”Madam, you look beautiful no matter what color your hair is…”  all the while I rolled my eyes underneath the veil of my hair..

After  she left I moved my hair to one side and said, “Are they all like that?”  To which they replied, “You haven’t seen ANYTHING!”

All this to say, I can no longer rebel..If you know of a place that is comfortable, casual, and free from drama..Please..leave me their info..

I kinda want to be able to wear sandals.. ;)

Perfect de-motivational poster!

4 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

4 responses to “Hobbit’s feet

  1. Kelly

    And what is wrong with that woman’s feet? They seem perfectly fine to me. If anything it’s her thighs. I couldn’t hear myself thing from all the thundering they’re making.

  2. Marwa

    She is blunt enough to discuss her insecurities outloud. You’re a fellow “beauty” fanatic for all she cares. That’s why she found that there’s nothing wrong with looking at your mirror. Little did she know that you’re still in denial. You think you’re different when you’re in the same melting pot.

  3. set

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your blog. You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love
    to write some content for your blog in exchange for
    a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Many thanks!

  4. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.

    I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

