40 things I’ve learned since moving to Lebanon

As I count down the days until I leave for Miami, I’ve been thinking a lot about all of the things I’ve learned (a little bit about myself but mostly about Lebanon) since I moved here 9 months ago.

So here they are. 40 things I’ve learned since moving to Lebanon.  I’m pretty sure there are more, but I think 40 will do for now.

1.  I’ve learned that I can live without a car, central AC, internet at home or on my phone.

2.  I’ve learned that just because toume looks like mashed potato, it doesn’t taste like mashed potato.

3.  I’ve learned that I prefer to sit outside my apartment building and wait for the power to come back on, than climb up 6 flights of stairs.

4.  I’ve learned not to flush any paper down the toilet because it will clog the plumbing.

5.  I’ve learned that a hairdresser is a man’s job, that it’s normal to smoke in a salon, and that “a brushing” means a blowdry.

6.   I’ve learned that it’s perfectly acceptable to wear six inch heels, low cut tops, curve hugging pants or short skirts to work…However.., it’s equally unacceptable to use other people’s mugs.

7.  I’ve learned that “Super nightclub” does not mean “really big nightclub”..but strip club.

8.  I’ve learned that not liking kaak is a crime.

9.  I’ve learned that I still (and always will) prefer espresso to Nescafe.

10.  I’ve learned that I secretly wish my mom packed my lunch in a tupperware, even though I give my co-workers hell about it every single day (“So what did your Mommy pack for you today?!?! huh? HUH!).

11.  I’ve learned that I will never be able to afford to buy property here.

12.  I’ve learned that a Lebanese breakfast of labneh (with olive oil and mint), zaatar, foul, fetteh, halloum, fresh vegetables, arabic bread, and man’ouche beats an American breakfast of cereal, pop tarts, eggo waffles, or even (dare I say it) bacon and eggs ANY DAY.

13.  I’ve learned that it’s pointless to try and convince my friends to stop smoking when the habit is so deeply ingrained into society that no one cares about the potential side effects.  (“Why do you smoke?” I ask. “It keeps me from eating” she says. “But you’re killing yourself.” I say. She shrugs.)

14.  I’ve learned to conserve units by miss calling people (annoying I know!)

15.  I’ve learned to always double check (or do my own research) before taking any medication that was given to me by a “pharmacist.”

16.  I’ve learned how to use a gas stove.

17.  I’ve learned that it’s normal to take 10 cigarette breaks, 5 coffee breaks, and then pull an all-nighter at work.

18.  I’ve learned that twitter is a wonderful place to meet great people and make meaningful connections in Lebanon.

19.  I’ve learned that the beach (although it should be) is not free.

20.  I’ve learned that you can get anything delivered to your house: food, groceries, dry cleaning, and even coals for your shisha.

21.  I’ve learned how to take criticism (the negative comments on this blog have helped me with that).

22.  I’ve learned that there is a Jewish community in Lebanon and that a synagogue is currently being restored in Downtown.

23.  I’ve learned that you don’t go to Sky Bar to dance.

24.  I’ve learned that I prefer to take taxis every day than to drive in Lebanon.  I’ve also learned that honking is its own language.

25.  I’ve learned not to expect good service when I go shopping.

26.  I’ve learned that it’s normal for parents to call their children (even if they’re in their 30’s) multiple times a day to ask them if they have eaten.

27.  I’ve learned that there are no emissions regulations for vehicles or factories (and if there are, they are ignored), which is resulting in toxic levels of pollution in the air.

28.  I’ve learned that Lebanese people hardly ever stick to plans (unless it’s a tweetup!) so, it’s better to make plans last minute.

29.  I’ve learned that summers in Lebanon are as hot and humid as summers in Miami.

30.  I’ve learned the difference between fireworks and gunshots (finally).

31.  I’ve learned that going to the bank never takes less than an hour, and that there is always a chance they closed your account but neglected to tell you about it.

32.  I’ve learned that there are more types of cheese than employees at the grocery store.

33.  I’ve learned that there is a very healthy gay scene in Lebanon.

34.  I’ve learned that soldiers don’t like it when you take pictures of buildings.

35.  I’ve learned to love listening to the call to prayer.

36.  I’ve learned that families take out loans to pay for their children’s wedding.

37.  I’ve learned that men wear engagement rings too.

38.  I’ve learned that I can’t blow dry my hair, run the AC, and do a load of washing at the same time – the power will cut.

39.  I’ve learned that there is no sense in worrying about things until they happen, and to live every day like it’s my last.

40.  And lastly, I’ve learned to appreciate where I call home.

*updated to include one more (I can’t believe I forgot it the first time!): I’ve learned that every ailment, from back pain, to headache, to stomach ache, and head cold..is, in fact, caused by the AC.

127 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

127 responses to “40 things I’ve learned since moving to Lebanon

  1. Dar El Akhdar

    Nice wrap-up of your first nine months!
    Did it feel like an epiphany while writing it? :)

    You should collaborate with @MayaZankoul and have a comics book illustrating your discoveries! It would be AWESOME!

    Have a safe trip back home ;)

    P.S. You might enjoy my post below related to #35:

    http://noteconnection.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/adhan

  2. Really enjoyed that! Well done. Looking forward to the next 40!!! :-))

  3. #13: seriously, when will smokers respect non-smokers? It’s so irritating. They just don’t get it.

    Have a safe trip to Miami. Regards to all. For how long will you stay there?

    • meinlebanon

      Smokers will respect non-smokers when they start respecting themselves! That’s how I see it, you know?

      I will be in Miami for two weeks, can’t waiiiiiit! ;)

  4. Lovely post, read it with smiles, some of them were surprising “guys don’t wear engagement rings in Miami?”

    Wish you a safe trip.. Thanks for twitter and your lovely blog, that introduce us to you.. :)

    • meinlebanon

      No! Guys don’t wear engagement rings in Miami! They should though, right? What are they doing? Keeping their options open? I don’t think that’s very fair now is it!

      Thank you for being so warm and welcoming Dany!

  5. Absolutely loved this post, definitely made me smile. I could sit here, comment and ask about each and every one!

  6. Really loved this! Typical Lebanese, haha :D

  7. Mariam

    Only in Lebanon eh?

    It’s nice seeing Lebanon from a non-Lebanese perspective, makes it very interesting and should shame all the Lebanese who choose to be away when a non-Lebanon sticks around. I am one of those. I will be back though and hope to learn as much as you have about life in Lebanon after being spoiled for so long.

  8. Adorable ! You have #12 twice though, and my response to the first #12: Hell Yeah !
    Have a safe trip, and go back “Home” soon, all those tweeps will miss you.

  9. f

    it’s only when you get back to the states that you’ll see how well you’ve internalized these lessons :)

    for starters, stuff like 24 hr electricity, not having to worry about blowing a fuse with the hairdryer, fast internet etc. will feel like the height of luxury — and it’ll probably be at least a week before you can throw the paper into the toilet without hesitating.

    it’s amazing how… bizarre… your old world can look when you come back to see it with new eyes.

    • meinlebanon

      It is those thoughts exactly that compelled me to write this post! I’m going to look at “my world” with a new set of eyes. These lessons have forever changed me..I can just picture my mom saying it now, “Why are you throwing the toilet paper in the garbage?!?” haha…classic.

      • f

        one trick that helps is to move the bin farther away from the toilet :)

        oh, and, they are also going to make fun of you for saying “sorry” to get the attention of service personnel :) (along with about a million other little things you hardly notice anymore!)

        you’ve changed forever, but you’re still you. just somehow more you than you were before. inevitable moments of embarrassment aside, it’ll always be a blessing :)

  10. Najla

    AWWWW . I absolutely love this post. So cool you’ve been there for 9 months already, thats tough…. Although i miss it like crazy.

    Your from Miami bitch LOL !!

    • meinlebanon

      HAHAH Najla you are too much! I’m still sad that we didn’t get a chance to meet after all of our back and forth! But hopefully one day, and one day soon! I know, 9 mths already?? Where has the time gone!

      But Miaaaami here I come!

  11. ZA

    i love your 40 points! we need more….i swear you can make a great book out of it. your description is so simple, straight to the point, and tangible,,,,,anyone reading this post will KNOW Lebanon by heart! great work and keep your posts coming even if you’re in Miami ….

    warmest regards

    • meinlebanon

      Thank you so much! I’m sure I will come up with another 40 soon enough. :)

    • Mom

      I’ve been telling Danielle I think what she has done with this blog is worth holding on to. I wholeheartedly agree that the material is good enough to publish one day – but I’m her Mom so I figured I’m kind of “partial”. Great to see that someone else agrees with me that these are worth compiling into a book! One day, right Danielle. Anyone has friends in publishing????

  12. What a fun read!
    Glad to see you learned so much during the stay in Beirut! Did life here contradict what you had expected it to be!?
    And trust me… there’s A LOT more to find out!

  13. wow, really enjoyed that post!
    Amazing how we can also get to wake up to some of the things we live through everyday.

    I hope you enjoyed your stay here, no matter how bizarre it may have been. As you say there’s always more points to note!
    I know I haven’t been able to meet you ever since I discovered all about your tweets & started following.

    Thank you for opening our eyes on some amazing things we go through on a daily basis, and thanks for waking some of us up on major issues we should look into.

    Wishing you all the blessings in the world.
    May the joy be with you :)

  14. I simply love it. I just learned several things from you too :)

  15. Nice points, you need 1 other point and you will be officially Lebanese
    to speak Arabic french and English in the same time
    (hi Kifak Ca va?)

  16. Great list. I had to learn a lot of these things myself when I moved here from London after 23 years. You forgot to mention that you learnt people will spend money they don’t have, to buy things they don’t need, to impress people they don’t like. :)

  17. duuude! awesome post :D loved it! you should like create this guidebook for foreigners :P “Thing you should know about Lebanon”
    again great post!! :D made me lol

  18. Sam

    Excellent post…. Was smiling all through the 40 points :) Hope when u come back you’ll even learn 40 more…. Have a safe flight, enjoy your time, and stay in touch even if ur “me-not-inlebanon”

  19. keano

    nice shots really,like sicilia ;)

  20. Question though – if you flush toilet paper in miami, it won’t get clogged? haha

    • Sam

      Actually no, coz all their drain pipes are much wider in diameter. Most of toilets in public places (restaurants and such) and even the workplace don’t even bother placing waste bins…

    • Mariam

      no. had the worst experience in Syria when I clogged a toilet ( well myself, my sister and my aunt) being all the spoiled ladies that we are and can’t handle throwing toilet paper in the bin because we all live overseas. My uncle wanted to hurt us..

      It can get clogged here if you really overdue it but overall its not a problem. Hopefully one day in Lebanon that changes because simply I can’t get over the idea of toilet paper in the bin.

      • meinlebanon

        Haha, your story is too funny! I have to admit, it was a bit odd for me as well.. “Is this sanitary?” I asked to myself..but hey, it is what it is.. And like your uncle, someone would chastise me every time I forgot to put the paper in the bin! Guess I’m still learning, you know?

      • Mariam

        a hundred percent. I plan to come back to Lebanon and live hopefully in the next year and among the things i’m like uhh what do I do.. is that! How can one just throw toilet paper like that? and the worst part is seeing it pile up! but yes, I too will have to learn.

  21. annie

    Great post. Loved it :)
    as for no 19, by law the resorts should let you in for free if you don’t intend to use the swimming pools. For example there’s a side entrance near edde sands and you can go in for free and walk to the beach area infront of edde sands. There are even representatives of the jbeil municipality there to make sure workers from the resorts don’t give you a hard time for being there ( no one ever bothered me though)

    • meinlebanon

      This is the first time I’m hearing that. Thanks for the lesson, I’ll have to try it out!

      • f

        there’s actually a whole stretch of that beach, just south of edde sands, that’s public and free. fair amount of litter unfortunately, but otherwise its awesome. can you believe when i first came to lebanon, the beach clubs on that same strip cost around LL 1500 entrance?

        sigh!

        at least the batroun beaches are still cheap!

  22. Great post! I love it, so real and down to earth!

  23. dude great post.. so funny and its so nice to see that nothing has changed about the leb ppl..
    funny enough so many points u said also relate to 75% of lebs in sydney….

  24. antara

    Hi, I’m not from Beirut though I worked with a whole bunch of Beirutis in Dubai…love the humour and sensitivity and deep love with which you wrote this. Keep writing!

  25. favorite one (: really good. love love love it

  26. Yas

    very interesting!! i loved it :)

  27. Nat

    Loved it Dani :)
    Nice wrap up of the last 9 months. Feels like we’ve done quite a lot – especially 31

  28. I think these 4o points summarized most of what makes Lebanon the way it is…if it didnt have all these characters it would have been a “normal” country…lol
    Thank you for this post i really enjoyed reading it:)

  29. @TamaraHamdan

    39. I’ve learned that there is no sense in worrying about things until they happen, and to live every day like it’s my last.

    my favorite!! love your post simply true, real , genuine and a learning to all of us :)
    see you soon ;)
    xx
    T

  30. well okay we do have some twisted up ways in handling situations, but you have to remember that we have a twisted country called ‘israel’ that keeps our life every day a living hell, and it is sponsored by your U.S. government, lebanon is a great country and maybe their people are blinded a little bit, but if you go for one day through what they go through you would probably kill yourself a million times, so please with all do respect to your point of view but please don’t give us these condescending criticism. and thank you :)

    • Armigatus

      No car, no AC, no internet, no electricity, expensive phones, smoke in closed spaces, non-public beaches, frustrated drivers, …
      How does that count as ‘handling the situation’ ? And what does Israel have to do with it??

  31. Great stuff, keep it up!

  32. Hey thank you for the comments on my blog! I am reading yours now, and thanks for noticing so many things some on the lebanese do not even see and learn! :)

  33. Five years and I still jump at the sound of fireworks. I still can’t differentiate between a gunshot or fireworks unless i have a visual

  34. Jara

    Love it Dani! So very proud of you. Can’t wait to see you soon :)

  35. Really nice post !!
    But too bad you are leaving soon :(
    Good Luck in everything!

  36. Wonderful post. Loved your list. Have a blast in Miami. Are you coming back?

  37. BeirutiAdventures

    An absolutely marvelous post! Wow… the things you learn when your far away from home hey! I love it.. this is definitely one of my favorite posts of ALL TIME. Great stuff… Have a fun and safe trip back to Miami, it will be a good break for you… thats if you intend on returning. Are you? LOL

    P.s. Najla told me the great news last night about her friend and the magazine! Congrats, very well deserved! <3

  38. Dani,

    As I was reading your post I could imagine each situation that would drive you to such realizations.
    And it made me wish I were there experiencing them with you! I can’t wait to see you!

  39. Bechara

    Dear friend,

    U pointed in ur post all the bad things in Lebanon, and didn’t write about things u’ll never see in states, like people who help for no reason, when u needs help… Lebanon is a mixed culture, and ur point of view is so damn right… but how come u didn’t realize that Lebanese people are a warm, full of passion and literally alive …and that 30 years of war while you’ve been in states made them take a decision to live day by day … even so they plan for future and that’s why, 38 % of the Lebanese between 22 and 34 years old leave Lebanon to find a better job and make more cash to come back …
    in the end i would like to say that u’r welcome at anytime to Lebanon the country of contradictions, freedom and hopefully Peace.

    Bechara Daher

  40. Joelle

    Nice post, Dani. Here’s to not judging a book by its cover.

  41. Cute post, it’s fun to see how lebanese daily details are perceived by someone who is not from lebanon, oh and #2 is funny, I wish I was there to see the look on your face when it happened :P lol

    • meinlebanon

      Haha, yeah I’ll never forget that! I think it was during my first month in Lebanon..and I was soooo excited to eat mashed potatoes! hahahah..good times, good times!

  42. Pingback: ❊Those Foreign Ladies Just Love to Share Minutiae Of Lebanese Life | The Beirut Spring, a Lebanese Blog

  43. the “Super nightclub” does not mean “really big nightclub” made me laugh so hard!
    great post : )

  44. Hasan

    youinlebanon,
    that is amazing, thanks for the tears of memories. #41 is right on the money, I always make fun of this point but they act as if I’m americanized and making fun of them :-) so cool to hear it from someone else.

  45. Beirut definitely has a style of its own, and we all have a love/hate relationship with it.

  46. “I’ve learned that a hairdresser is a man’s job”

    Well I mean would u have it any other way? =P

    “I’ve learned that not liking kaak is a crime.”

    Totally! hehe

    “I’ve learned to conserve units by miss calling people(annoying I know!)”

    But I dno what u mean by “annoying” :P

    “I’ve learned that there is a very healthy gay scene in Lebanon.”

    And hope it gets healthier!

    Awesome list Dani. I rly enjoyed readin it :)

  47. Retno

    Lmao, true enough…very well-said facts, sis! :)
    But I guess you missed out one point, that is “I`ve learnt that most of Lebanese judge you from your looks”.

    Well, it is a human nature. It is an evolutionary trait. We all tend to make judgement about ppl based on their appearance, however in Lebanon, too much is too much!

    Ever since getting married to my Lebanese husband, I`ve been visiting Lebanon quite often. During each course of my visit there, I`ve lost count of the number of times that I`ve been mistaken for a maid or nanny instead of the mother of my two children (I am from Indonesia).
    They stare you with that evil kinda look, scan you from head to toes and wont even miss your nails, for God`s sake!

    Despite the fact that we own a property in Beirut, I cant imagine myself calling Lebanon as my home one day. I just dont fit in there, dont know how to deal with those showing off, high maintenance people. DUH! These ppl,esp the Lebanese women, need to learn that it`s what`s the inside that counts, not the outside. We are the way God has made us to be.

    • Armigatus

      I am sorry you feel that way towards Lebanon.
      Hopefully one day, the majority of the Lebanese will become better at appreciating the true values of other people

    • Retno u r totally right. you reminded me with something happened when i was working as IT support”fixing computers”. I went to a customer’s house and there was only a woman from the far east so i wondered and I asked her about the housewife who called me to fix her computer and she said “it’s me”. i also though she works as maid and she understood that bcoz it’s not the first time she faces such thing but what i want to highligh on is the point that Lebanese don’t judge this way because they think that you r cheap or discrimination or something like that but because we don’t have different nationalities living in our country such as in USA! here u see only lebanese and maids from srilanka or india or far east so when lebanese meet ppl from those countries they automatically judge them as maids due to the fact that we don’t “or we barely, not to generalize” have ppl from those countries who live and work here other than maids. I’m sorry for that and i understand your feeling, i don’t know if your convinced by the reasons i mentioned but whatever the reasons are, i know it’s shame on us to think this way!

      Regards :)

    • suraya

      retno, that was my experience too when i went to lebanon for a 3 week trip with my husband and son. in other countries where i have traveled to (singapore, switzerland, usa, dubai, saudi arabia, taiwan, hong kong, korea), people assumed we were married with a child. only in lebanon was i assumed to be a maid for the boy. i am from malaysia.

  48. Italian Boy

    please traslate by google, to italian in english.

    Sono Italiano vivo per lavoro a beiruth da 1 anno e 6 mesi. Noi chiamiamo i Libanesi, quelli cristiani, i falsi europei.Condivido completamente quello scritto sui problemi del Libano, internet da 256kbps a 50 dollari a mese con limitazione di dati, skype non funziona bene, sistema sanitario privatizzato.Cambio fisso 1 dollar o usa =1.500 Lire libanesi ,ma come e` stato calcolato questo cambio? In libano ci sono piu` auto che persone, l`importante e` apparire. Beiruth e` costosa, senza averne un vero motivo.Non ci sono servizi pubblici come Autobus, ma vecchi e sporchi bus privati senza luci e male odornati.Io non vedo un miglioramento per questo paese, dove non c`e` elettricita 24 ore al giorno in cambio i generatori di energia elettrica privata, emettono contaminazione cancerogena.Scioperano per l`aumento della benzina e non perche manca l`energia elettrica.Tutto privato.
    Il mare e` contaminato, non si costruiscono strade nuove non si progetta niente per il futuro, non ci sono parchi pubblici. La zona mussulmana, quella dei ricchi mussulmana e` molto migliore di quella cristiana. Io non vorrei vivere mai vivere qui per molto tempo.

  49. Pingback: My first 2 page spread! « This is Beirut

  50. Pingback: Kaak Shisha and AC | kadmous.org

  51. you are HILARIOUS!!! so so so so true!

  52. Ali Ward

    and what u learn about neighbors,its a big story to tell i think,and what about taxis drivers,they born deaf,all time horning,and what about time,its not exist in Lebanon,you wait and wait,and then when u meet ,they will smile ,and says on our time Lebanese time ,delay one hour or two doesn’t matter.
    basically will never finish what we learned,its Lebanon,the born of alphabetical in this world,every day u will learn something new…………..

  53. waw you just hit the nail, that’s exactly how i felt when i tried to move back to Lebanon. Just love the way you have put it all together.

  54. Dawn

    Accidently came across your blog. Loved it. I deal with middle eastern people on a daily basis, especially ones from Lebanon so this was enlightening. My daughter and her husband are currently doing something similiar for the USA. They are traveling in an RV from state to state attending sporting type events. They have a top 10 of what they have learned every so many months from the different states they travel. Even within our own country each state is a little bit unique. Check them out. Coupleofsports.com. And again….loved your post.

  55. I’m so glad I stumbled upon your blog, it made me laugh =)

    Very well said!

  56. Emad

    whoever is writing this…I’m LOVING IT and its cracking me up to bits as i have experienced every single one too. lmao

  57. numps

    You are so hot. When you coming back? I’d like to show you more of Lebanon (the south maybe?) It’d knock your socks off. Quite a bit of a culture shock but you’d love it.

  58. Laurie

    I’m also a Florida girl living in Lebanon (for the last 17 months now), and have experienced every single thought that you have put into these blogs. Amazing. For the longest time, I thought it was only me thinking these exact same things.

  59. cna

    I was recommended this web site via my cousin. I am no longer positive whether or not this put up is written by way of him as no
    one else realize such precise about my problem. You are incredible!

    Thanks!

  60. rob

    You forgot many thinks
    Lebos are the most stupid and ignorant people on this planet.
    Biggest loosers, liers, thiefs, ignorant, selfish, bullsitters, wanna bees , the wars people I have ever meet, not sirious and not worht to meet.
    All are just the same stereo typs .
    The country is ruled by crooks and mafia,
    Lebos are just depressing people full of inferiority complex.

    • soha

      U are gay
      Don’t visit it if u don’t like it idiot

    • Hassan

      Rob,
      Is that your name? at least use your real name or write proper English. Obviously you’ve had a bad experience in Lebanon or with a Lebanese. If you open your mind and see the truth you will find that Lebanese are not like that. Proud to be Lebanese regardless of our country’s situation. We know how to live, we know how to survive no matter how bad it gets. Can you do that? can you still smile in any country that went through and is going through what we go through every day?
      Get a life boy

  61. enas102

    how come the that soldiers don’t like it when you take pictures of buildings? why is that ?

  62. This is all so true! I loved this! It was also really funny of how true it is!

  63. This is awesome! Makes me miss Beirut :)

  64. This is the a penis birth control pill and how makes it work?
    Still, the most conceived after effect of Penis Pill extreme events
    personnel casualty of erecting capacities. Size Genetics is a
    full puppet for enhancing and covered with penis tablet mesh on one end to fix and hold it beneath the glans.

  65. Anna Kaleil

    What is Sky Bar? Why wouldn’t you dance there?

  66. tanious

    I wish you learned about the history, Byblos (Jbeil), Tyre, Sidon, Phoenicians, the Cedars, Valley of the Saints, Monasteries, Jeita, Mwuawium, Churches, Mosques, Mezza, Ihde,. el Jabal, Schools, upbringing,…… All the rest is in a mess and needs serious restructuring. It seems you wanted to get away from your Miami’s boring, routine life, in the process you discovered that Lebanon is not Miami. If one is financially successful Lebanon offers a lot.

  67. Excellent post. I certainly appreciate this website. Continue the
    good work!

  68. Reblogged this on sfouch and commented:
    interesting piece

  69. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why
    throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog
    when you could be giving us something enlightening
    to read?

  70. Rolfen

    Yes, the AC hits you.
    Typically lebanese have a weird relationship with air conditionning. Its a basic thing, they’ve been using it almost everywhere since it exists, and it si used for about 1/3 of the days in the year, more than heating, yet you will still regularly hear people attributing all kind of mysterious aikments to it.

  71. Tony Bou Issa

    I am waiting your invitation to Miami to give you an Objectif Lebanese feedback about it. what I am pretty sure about, I will never come back home. lol

  72. Wow reading this really made me smile!! Are you back in Beirut now? Cause if you are and are still walking around… You should pick up a “Welcome to Beirut” booklet.

  73. Rudy

    Tomorrow going to Lebanon for 2 months! <3

  74. Marie Lameh

    Hi. I’m planning on moving to Lebanon beggining 2015 but I have so many doubts on wether I should do that or not. I already requested my Lebanese nationality since my dad was Lebanese. My questions are for example: Is it safe for a woman to live there alone?, is it possible to get a decent job and renting a decent and non-expensive place ?, do I need to speak Arabic (cause I don’t but I do speak English and some French), can you walk safely at any time without being robbed?, would I have social security and any other benefit?. I’ve never been to Lebanon and have no idea on how it is to live there.
    I really hope someone can help me out with all this.

  75. Love the article Dani. You made me laugh at some point, but totally agree. You framed the case in Lebanon precisely!

  76. Marie Lameh

    Still waiting for your comments… anyone ???

  77. CC

    I married a Lebanese and have been living in Lebanon for 4 years now and oh my goodness how I can relate to most of the things you pointed out. My home is Belgium and I have learned to appreciate it so much and I can’t wait to move back. Complaining Belgians annoy me now.

  78. Joy

    I want the world to know a great man that is well known as Dr.EKPEN TEMPLE has the perfect solution to relationship issues and marriage problems. The main reason why i went to Dr.EKPEN TEMPLE was for solution on how i can get my lover back because in recent times i have read some testimonies on the internet which some people has written about Dr.EKPEN TEMPLE and i was so pleased and i decided to seek for assistance from Dr.EKPEN TEMPLE which he did a perfect job by casting a spell on my lover which made him to come back to me and beg for forgiveness. I will be drop his contact of Dr.EKPEN TEMPLE for the usefulness of those that needs his help, They are via email: (((ekpentemple @ gmail. com)))

Leave a Reply

