Top 10 things I can’t wait to do in Miami..

1.  I can’t wait to take my brother and sister to get some Cold Stone Ice Cream, because it’s their favorite and my Mom doesn’t take them often enough.  Oh, and because it makes them think I’m the best big sister in the whole wide world.

Cold Stone Ice Cream

Cold Stone Ice Cream

photo credit

2.  I can’t wait to have some Cuban food and a proper mojito (have yet to find a place in Lebanon that makes a mojito how I know and like it!). Even if we have to order in from Casa Romeu (lol Mom) and even if I have to make the mojito myself!

Cuban food

Cuban food...delicioso..arroz y frijoles, platanos maduros, bistec de pollo..yum!

photo credit.

Mojito

Mojitoooo

photo credit

3. I can’t wait to watch my Grandmother make me some Trinidadian food, talk to her and my Grandfather about the past nine months, and listen to their sweet “singy songy”  Trinidadian accents..

Trinidadian Food

Curry chicken and plantain

photo credit

4. I can’t wait to take a drive down to South Beach for a beach day with my best friends..take a walk on Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road, and maybe even take an Art Deco walking tour to learn more about Miami’s Art Deco Buildings (can’t believe I’ve never done that!)..and ohh, go for caipirinhas and sushi, at our favorite South Beach restaurant – Sushi Samba Dromo..

South Beach

The iconic lifeguard stands on South Beach

photo credit

Lincoln Road

Lincoln Road - one of the most famous streets in South Beach..I forgot how beautiful palm trees are!

photo credit

Sushi Samba Miami

Sushi Samba Dromo - Lincoln Road, Miami Beach

photo credit

Ocean Drive

Ocean Drive - South Beach's most famous street - at night..

photo credit

aaaand if things get really crazy (I can’t wait to see if they do!), then we might even hit up Liv at the Fontainebleau,,

Liv Nightclub Fontainebleau Hotel

Liv Nightclub (Miami's hottest nightclub) - Fontainebleau Hotel - Miami Beach

photo credit

5.  I can’t wait to go for a picnic with my Dad at Vizcaya Gardens..

Vizcaya Gardens

Vizcaya Gardens..just beautiful..South Miami, Miami

Vizcaya Gardens

Vizcaya Gardens..South Miami, Miami

photo credit

6.  I can’t wait to go for a spa/pool/relaxation day with my Mom at the Standard Hotel in Miami Beach.

Standard Hotel Miami

The steam room at the Standard Hotel

photo credit

Standard Hotel Miami Beach

The pool at the Standard Hotel - Miami Beach

photo credit

7. I can’t wait to go for a stroll in the Design District with my family..many of them have yet to see it..and it’s such an amazing place!!.. full of boutique stores, art galleries, incredible architecture, and charming cafes..

Miami Design District

How cool is this building in the Design District?

photo credit

The Moore Building Miami Design District

The Moore Building in Miami's Design District

photo credit

Mai Tardi Design District

Mai Tardi restaurant in the Design District

photo credit

8. I can’t wait to take a drive into downtown Miami at night, while marveling at the Miami skyline..before having an amazing night on the town..Segafredo, Blue Martini, River Lounge..here I commmee!

Brickell Avenue at Night

Brickell Avenue at Night..the perfect view before an amazing night on the town..

photo credit

Segafredo Brickell Miami

Happy Hour at Segafredo - Brickell, Miami

photo credit

Blue Martini Miami

Live music at Blue Martini - Brickell, Miami

photo credit

9. I can’t wait to go to the Adrienne Arsht Performing Arts Center to see Pandemonium, a performance from the creators of STOMP!

Adrienne Arsht Center

The Adrienne Arsht Center - isn't it incredible?

photo credit

Pandemonium by the creators of Stomp

Pandemonium by the creators of Stomp - I can't waiiiit!

photo credit.

10.  I can’t wait to (and I know my Mom isn’t going to believe this one) take a boat ride through the Everglades!  I haven’t done that since I was about 10!

Everglades

Everglades - Aerial View..

Florida Everglades

the Everglades..

photo credit

But most of all, I just can’t wait to be back home!

Wish me a safe flight! ;)

54 Comments

Filed under Miami

54 responses to “Top 10 things I can’t wait to do in Miami..

  1. Mariam

    Enjoy! Looks fun… I should really make sure at one point I go to Miami.

    Have a safe flight :)

  2. Simon

    Wow! This post makes you wanna go to Miami like now now now.
    Will definitely bookmark this one in my favourites :)

    Enjoy :)

    • meinlebanon

      Writing it made me realize how truly amazing my home is! ;) Thanks for all of your comments Simon! I always look forward to reading them!

    • meinlebanon

      Do you mean disfrutar? If so, then thank you, I will enjoy it! :)

      • disfrutar is the verb (To have fun). Disfruta-te means (Go have fun!) :)

        But you’re from Miami, you should know that :P.
        I would die to try that cuban and Trinidadian food!

        Have a safe trip..

      • meinlebanon

        Yes yes, you’re right! It’s been a while since I’ve heard or spoken any Spanish, and the word is missing an accent, i guess that was why I was thrown off – DOI!.. Thanks, I will enjoy!

  3. Well hope you complete everything on your to-do list and let us know what’s happening! Have a nice trip!

  4. wow! I’d really like to discover all that myself!
    Sounds really amazing!

    Have an amazing time!!

  5. Bil Salameh and Have fun! Will wait for you to come back ya 3azeezitna :)

  6. Sounds like you have a lot of things to do. Great pics as well… Yallah enjoy it and try to keep us posted via your blog / twitter…

    Have a safe trip.

  7. ZouZeta

    Impressing, sounds like i have to plan a trip to Miami next summer…
    and cold stone is always on top of the list, i think it was the best ice cream i ever had….
    Have a safe trip and hope u can do it all :)

  8. Such a neat post. Took me down memory lane. I used to live in Miami Beach for 16 months on Lincoln Ave, and I had my daily breakfast at Puerto Sagua, the Cuban restaurant which I believe is still there, and you could get Cafe con leche and breakfast for 2 dollars 15 years ago..
    waiting for your next posts from there!

    • meinlebanon

      haha..two dollars?!?! Yeah that doesn’t exist anymore haha! I wonder what Miami Beach was like 15 years ago..did you like it, or love it? haha I will keep you posted from the MIA.

  9. cool! i’m planning a visit to the us next year, maybe miami should be on the list.
    oh, try the Kayan Mojito :)

    • meinlebanon

      Celine, it HAS to be on the list..let me know if you go, so I can make you an even longer list of things to do! and I will try Kayan when I come back!

  10. Having been stuck here for 9 years, you made me travel through your text and beautiful pictures.
    Wishing you a wonderful time amongst your loved ones.

  11. Have a great time, don’t forget about us! You gotta post while you’re there! All the best & safe travels, seeya when you get back.

  12. Wow! I didn’t know all this about Miami! Makes me want to visit. The Vizcaya Gardens look just like Italy! Also, I used to always take my little sister to Cold Stone when I came home to visit and she did think I was the coolest for doing it :) Though she still likes to complain about how I would only let her get the kid size (but at the time she always said she was glas I made her get that size because it was just enough). ha ha

    • meinlebanon

      haha..kids man..I tell you, never happy! But the kids size is just fine, the ice cream is so rich that they almost never end up finishing it, I do! haha..Yes, I tried hard to show different sides of Miami..it isn’t only about clubbing and partying..although a lot of people think it is..and yes, Vizcaya is absolutely gorgeous..I’m sure you would love to take pictures there..my cousin got married there a few years ago, and I think it is easily the most beautiful place in Miami! :) Hope ur enjoying Lebanon and Hamra!

  13. the Design District sounds DIVINE!

    Can’t wait to go there someday!

    Have fun back home Dani :)

  14. Mom

    Thanks for being so “generous” to me in your comment about taking the kids to Coldstone – I think I’ve taken your brother and sister only ONCE for the year … and we pass by it several times a week! You are right, that is one of the many reasons they think you are the best big sister and are dying for you to come home!! Isabelle is reading a book based in the Florida Everglades and looking forward to an airboat ride too!! See you in a few hours:-)

  15. Dani Girl!
    This read is superb with my BB muffin this morning.
    I already miss you…

  16. OMG, I can’t the picture of the ice cream out of my mind!
    Other than that, these pics look incredible. Did you take them? Hope you have a safe flight :)

    • meinlebanon

      HAHA..no I didn’t take all of them..I scoured the internet to find them! But I’m hoping I will be able to take my own once I’m here..and yes,, Cold Stone Ice Cream is the BOMB!

  17. Dar El Akhdar

    OK….

    I always knew that Will Smith couldn’t have sang about a town without it being special…

    And I knew one HAS to visit the town of Horatio Cane (“Youuuu… Are Welcome… Anytiiiime)…

    But now… Miami is DEFINITELY on my travel list!

    • meinlebanon

      hahahah you are too much Rabih!! Miami should have always been on your travel list,,it is aaamaaazing! I will try to show you as much of it as I possibly can!

  18. wow, looks like you’ve got a full filled schedule ahead of you! have a blast, and keep writing! :-)

  19. Pingback: Top 10 things I can't wait to do in Miami.. « This is Beirut

  20. Yasmin

    This blog post made me want to cry of homesickness! Those are all my places and that is all my food, hehe. Hi, I’m Mokhtar’s cousin Yasmin, the one from Miami, the one who moved to Beirut at about the same time as you and the one who is going to go back to visit at about the same time as you (Nov. 6) can’t wait! Anyways, love the blog, and I can totally relate : )

    • meinlebanon

      Yasmin! I’ve heard so much about you from Mokhtar! We both went to the same university, and I think studied the same thing – Int’l Business..would love to meet you when I get back! After 9 months in Beirut, I was soo homesick and ready to come back to Miami, as I’m sure you are..Well, I hope I get to do everything on my list, please let me know if you need anything! :)

  21. Pingback: Cold Stone Creamery.. « This is Beirut

  22. Pingback: A day at the Everglades.. « This is Beirut

  23. Sultan Osman

    This post makes me want to go to Miami too. Can I join you? :(

  24. Laura

    The photo at Blue Martini is of my cousins’ band, Libido!!! LOVE IT! Watching them perform is probably #1 on MY list for when I go home next month, haha!! :)

  25. hey, loved that post…i was on my balcony (on Brickell smoking an arguilee of course.. representing ;-) ) and was checking ur blog and ur post on ur experience with pharmacies in Beirut. I stumbled on this post that caught my eyes when i saw “miami”. I would be curious to know how you would compare your experience ( in general… not only pharmacies lol) in Beirut to Miami? I ve been in Miami for 10 years now… i go back to lebanon every year… and always feel empty before boarding the plane back to Miami. Dont get me wrong …love Miami but Beirut will always be Beirut for me.
    PS: Just got back from Blue Martini in Mary Brickell Village. People say hi ;)

    • Blue Martiniiii! That was one of my fav’s! I’m sure the ladies in Blue keep you coming back.. ;) I wish my Economics teacher partied at Blue Martini! I HATED Econ at FIU – which is where I went too btw. Well,,to know more about my experience here in Beirut, compared to my life back in Miami you will have to read through my blog. I make a lot of comparisons between the two cities.. (nightlife, salaries, dating, …..etc etc) Well, your family is in Lebanon I imagine…and let’s face it, Miami doesn’t really have a “culture,” so it’s normal to come back to Miami with a heavy heart. Thanks for reading! BTW,,tried to find you on Linkedin, but your profile didn’t come up. How was growing up in the Ivory Coast?

      • well i see u visited my website as well, so i guess thanks are in order. ;) yeah i guess im a pretty cool economics prof. i dunno if my students will share ur thoughts on the matter. ud have to ask them. I ve been browsing around ur blog since yesterday and yes, i did read some articles that would answer my question. i also saw that u graduated FIU in international business… so that means we were going to FIU at the same time! lol been there since i landed in miami for the first time. regarding linked in… i do have a profile but as many lebanese my name is found on the net with many spellings. I even lost track myself. try “mohamed nassereddine”. best !

  26. Pingback: South Beach Sightings….. | Lauren b. Clothing

  27. Pingback: Best Restaurants in Miami Beach

Leave a Reply

