Byblos Part 3

So, we made our way back up to The Old City in search of the Manchester United vs. Chelsea game..yes..its true..football fans never take a vacation, and I happened to be in Byblos with some..To their delight, we managed to find a pub where the game was playing..

It wasn’t long before we realized that there were two Americans in the pub who had done the same..They were quite easily distinguishable from the crowd with their loud running commentary of the entire match..I had forgotten how obnoxious the American accent sounds!  Did I sound like THAT? My friends didn’t mind so much, and were quite impressed to find Americans who knew their ish.

Two Americans (well 3 with me included), in Byblos, watching a football match between two English teams..go figure.

Anyway, we were sitting behind them, when I got the idea to snap this photo..

The Americans watching the Man U v Chelsea match..

After the match, we headed back to Hotel Canari de Byblos to watch the sunset from our balcony..but not before spotting this rather odd sight..

"Oh no! My six inch silver heel is stuck in the cobble stone street!"

Where was this woman going with her bleach blond hair, silver pants, and high-heeled boots, at 5:00pm in the afternoon in BYBLOS!?  Did she not get the memo that she was walking around in the oldest inhabited city in the world, during Easter weekend?  Blasphemy I tell you!

Well, I didn’t know where she was going, but I soon figured out from whence she came!

Kookla - Place..Super Night Club

Who could think to put a SUPER NIGHT CLUB in Byblos!   To which someone would say, “well.. it is the oldest profession in the world..”

To which I would reply, “But still!”

Anyhow..after watching the sun disappear under the Mediterranean sea, we headed to Locanda, a Lebanese fusion restaurant located in the heart of The Old Souk..

Lychee martinis.  Minimal tech house.  Fusion Lebanese food.

I was blown away..(the service wasn’t all that good, but I attributed it to the garish costumes that the owner made the staff wear)..and immediately my friends and I started planning the logistics of throwing monthly events at this restaurant that reminded me so much of Miami..

When suddenly my friend turned to me and said, “Can you believe we are talking about minimal tech house, djs, and throwing parties when, in the distance, there are ancient ruins from 2,000 years ago?  Insane.”

The Old Souk at night..Laconda restaurant in the background..

The Old Souk at night..

To my weekend lover, Byblos..you were amazing!

7 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon, Vacationing in Lebanon

7 responses to “Byblos Part 3

  1. Great blog!

    Just FYI, as a Lebanese myself, I am quite sure your silver platform heel wearing blonde was not in fact a stripper but just a regular Lebanese plastic-surgery-fied woman

    I’m sure you’ve noticed Lebanese women tend to go over the top no matter what their errand? lol

    Keep it up!

    ~LZ

  2. Pretty sure that woman was not a stripper, just a regular Lebanese woman who cannot leave her house without being fully done up–i’m sure you’ve already noticed that as the norm in lebanon!

    great blog, keep it up!

    ~LZ

  3. lol, well i just realized that you need to approve the comments–so you can delete the 2nd one!

  4. yourboyblue

    Hey you, I like that first photo, really nice. I would do it in black and white or sephia next time, though.

  5. You should try batroun sometimes🙂

  6. Pingback: Step away from the Hummus! « This is Beirut

  7. Hi, I like your website. This is a great site and I wanted to post a little note to let you know, great job! Thanks Tammy

    Louis Vuitton

    vuitton

Leave a Reply

