You Lebanese got it made!

The first thing I see when I come to work everyday is a procession of people lining up with lunch box in tow, waiting to put their lunches (all nicely compartmentalized in different tupperware) into the fridge..

Maybe it’s because in the states, we don’t really have a take-your-lunch-box to work culture, or maybe because my Mom stopped making me lunch when I was 12 (To be fair, I had hot lunches at school)..that I thought this lunch box thing was just a liiiiitle bit strange..especially when you see men dressed in their business suit with their briefcase in one hand..and their lunch box in the other..

I don’t think I ever had a lunch box growing up..and to this day, I don’t think my 9 year old sister, or 12 year old brother have ever had a lunch box either…At my house, we always favored brown paper bags, or ziplog bags over lunch boxes…which brings me to my next point about the types of lunches I see at work..

No peanut butter and jelly or ham and cheese sandwiches, no pizza sticks (MOM)…but full on MEALS..like we’re talking home cooked, three course Lebanese meals..oftentimes freshly cooked that morning by their parents!

Man, you Lebanese got it made.  Keep warming up those pizza sticks Mom. hahaha!

12 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

12 responses to “You Lebanese got it made!

  1. yourboyblue

    Man…now I seriously miss my Alf lunch box. Best lunchbox evar! (After my awesome transformers lunchbox).

  2. Mom used to prepare my lunch box, Now my wife. and yes i hold in one hand my handbag and in the other one my food box🙂

    i kinda like it, i always get surprise when i open the boxes.

  3. meinlebanon

    Well Pakos, you got it made, now don’t you? Must be nice! I wish someone would make me my lunch boxey!🙂

  4. Mom

    Well… I have to say, as far as I know, most American moms do not make home cooked meals for their children to take to school/work. If they do prepare lunchboxes they are filled with perhaps a sandwich of some sort, hopefully some fruit or carrot sticks, juice and in all likelihood, a less than healthy snack. Many send their kids with “Lunchables”, pizzasticks etc … all highly processed foods bought at the supermarket. And the quality of “freshly prepared” hot school lunches that you can buy there is questionable also. When it comes to healthy eating habits, we are really in trouble in the U.S.!

  5. My lunch box for today is rice with shrimp+salad!
    welcome to Lebanon !

  6. 🙂 This is a very interesting comparison. My mom used to make us sandwich and snack lunchboxes till I was about 12. Then when I started working, I would just pack some of whatever home-cooked meal was in the fridge.
    I guess the reason we Middle Easterns do that is because we have a light dinner/supper when we get home at 6 or 7. Like cheese or Labneh… rather than a cooked meal like my brother does in the States.
    Honestly, that home-cooked meal is what helped me get thru the work day every day! It’s like taking a bit of Mom with me to work…😀

  7. hahaha
    great post, made me laugh [out loud]
    🙂

  8. my mom still prepares my lunches and my husbands (she moved in with us 2 years ago)
    i’m the only one in the office who uses the refrigerator🙂

    • meinlebanon

      HAHAHAH! Thank you Angie for proving my point! Fridges here are FULL TO THE BRIM! Must be nice to have home cooked meals everyday, are your co-workers jealous?

  9. Brownine

    Hi, I discovered your blog today and I must say that I’m love-love-loving it!
    I just have a small correction to make on this post. I am lebanese and I’ve been living in Montreal for the past couple of years, and everyone there has their own little lunch box (never sandwiches, always home-cooked meals) with the healthy salad and even dessert. So we’re not the only spoiled ones after all!😉 But I must add that they don’t use paper or ziploc bags because they care about the environment!!

  10. Pingback: What type of parent are you going to be? | This is Beirut

Leave a Reply

