My part in the death of the Arabic language..

In Lebanon, the Arabic language is dying..and it is people like me..with our English-only blogs, our hesitance to learn Arabic, and our imposition of Western culture, habits, and ideals…who are contributing to it’s death.

The impact of this sad sad fact..can be seen all around Beirut City..where crime scenes abound, cornering off the dead, forgotten, letters of this beautiful language..

Campaign to save the Arabic Language Lebanon

photo credit: Public Design Intervention Beirut facebook page

Campaign to Save the Arabic language

photo credit: جمعية فعل أمر facebook group

Campaign to save the Arabic language

photo credit: danyawad.wordpress.com

In a recent article, the BBC reported,

Arabic is the official language of Lebanon, but English and French are widely used.

Most Lebanese speak French – a legacy of France’s colonial rule – and the younger generation gravitates towards English.

A growing number of parents send their children to French lycees or British and American curriculum schools, hoping this will one day help them find work and secure a better future.

Some even speak to their children in French or English in the home.

“It’s sad, no-one in our generation is speaking Arabic properly anymore,” says Lara Traad, a 16-year-old student at Notre Dame de Jamhour, one of Lebanon’s many French curriculum schools.

“I really regret that my parents did not concentrate more on developing my Arabic, it’s too late now, but maybe for the younger students in the country something can be done.”

Despite this, all hope is not lost..starting the 26th of this month, a series of activities relating to the Arabic language will begin, encouraging the country’s youth to preserve the Arabic language.  The advertisements for this campaign beautifully depict young people embracing the Arabic language..

Campaign to save the Arabic language

Campaign to save the Arabic language

To find out more information on this campaign visit their official site here and their facebook page here.

As for me?  My Arabic classes commence next month!

11 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

11 responses to “My part in the death of the Arabic language..

  1. Micheline

    Yes, sad indeed. I was never able to learn Arabic either (long story…). I am now trying to teach myself, in large part to read the many interesting and inspiring blogs in Arabic by friends such as Pascal Assaf, Danny Awad, Eliane Bader and Maeiva… So bravo on trying to learn Arabic :-))

    • meinlebanon

      Yes, it is true, I often have to ask for them to transfer their posts so that I can read them! I need to learn, I suppose I’m just hesitant because I’m fearing how hard it will be!

  2. ME

    Please meinlebanon stop copying others blog, your blog is a summary of others blogs 😦
    thank you

    • meinlebanon

      It’s a shame you think so, because I most definitely think it is not! I try really hard to give my personal perspective on events/occurrences in Lebanon, and I also post about things completely unrelated to other blogs, like the New Girl and her vegetables!! 😉 Have you read enough of my blog to make that sort of statement? thanks for your feedback!

  3. Would love to help anyone who wants to learn Arabic or better themselves in it…just comment back or drop me a line on my blog or email 🙂

    Great post 🙂

    • LD

      I know this is two years later, but I am living in Lebanon and interested in learning the language. Are you still teaching it?

  4. yourboyblue

    good luck with your Arabic classes. It’s a shame that people think that it’s too late for them. It’s never too late to learn something new. I find it rather conflicting that the same people preaching that others should learn a language say that it’s too late for them.
    @ME – Meinlebanon quotes her sources and respects their opinions. There’s a wide range of original content in her blog and there’s also big news items that many people blog about. This blog frequently has original content and original reflections regarding recent news items. If at some point you know of someone who was offended by their original content being summarized and referenced in this blog, I’m sure meinlebanon would be happy to remove said content. Until then, please leave such non-constructive and un-substantiated comments at the door. Thanks

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention My part in the death of the Arabic language.. « This is Beirut -- Topsy.com

  6. It is sad when you realize that you cannot express yourself in writing in your own language. I cannot write a blog post in Arabic…even my laptop does not have Arabic keys.
    All I use at work is the English language. I do not even know the equivalent of many terms (I use at work) in Arabic, which is very sad.
    I should work on re-learning my own language, because we need to pass it on to our children. I will start with simple exercise, the next book I will read will be in Arabic. It is never too late…

  7. MEisamoron

    Great post and so relevant… being a lebanese who lived abroad, my social circle is also full of lebanese who resemble me and my failure to fully grasp my language… i had taken classes, but with work and other obligations it became a very taxing activity. but i have also strengthened my resolve to pick up again…

    @Me… people like you are infuriatingly dense… clearly you have limited scope and understanding of things, so i’ll try to make this easy… lebanon: small country… lebanese blogosphere: even smaller… it is very normal that what is a current event or piece of news in this country will be talked about by aaall the bloggers… but none of them will express it the same way… hence why u read one blog over another, depending on what style of writing or perspective u prefer or agree with… ur comment is like saying “CNN is a summary of BBC and Jazeera”… no it’s not. they all talk about the same thing, the news, but they express it veeery differently.

    i cud go on some more… but for some reason i feel like i wud be wasting my time… have a good one ME!

  8. Marie-H

    It sucks that I wasn’t able to go to that event because of a simple flu. It was held next to my house.
    What’s also sad is that I push people to use the arabic language more yet when I’m with my best friends we only talk in English. :s

Leave a Reply

