Teach me.

Before I came to Lebanon I didn’t know anything about the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.

Zip. Zilch. Zero.

I thought Israel always existed..and Palestine was just a small country..Embarrassing I know, but world history was never one of my strong points.

Throughout eight years of high school and university, not once did I learn anything  about the Middle East.  Really, not once.

Friends of mine gave me two books to read written by a family friend of theirs..who lived in Palestine before, during, and after the British mandate.

Palestinian books

Books by Nassib Bulos

Jerusalem Crossroads taught me the history of the conflict and the region, under the guise of a love story between a Palestinian man and an Israeli woman.

I loved it.

Contribute to my education.  Suggest some more books for me to read.

11 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

11 responses to “Teach me.

  1. Anateboteo

    Edward W. Said. and Illan Pappe are two great authors for this subject.

    I recommend Edward W. Said’s, “The Question of Palestine.”

  2. I would get The Covenant: Love & Death in Beirut
    http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/051757215X/2406d-20

    Great book and from a very different perspective. I couldn’t put it down once I started.

  3. “A History of Israel: From the Rise of Zionism to Our Time”, Howard M. Sachar – great book, very balanced.

    “The Question of Palestine”, as Anateboteo said.

    “The Ethnic Cleansing of Palestine”, Ilan Pappe

    When it comes to Lebanon-Israel-Palestinians … it’s the easy answer, but Fisk’s “Pity the Nation” is pretty good, as is Freidman’s “From Beirut to Jerusalem”.

    Noam Chomsky also writes a lot. You’ll either love him or hate him through. “Fateful Triangle” is alright.

  4. Nour1146

    The Attack by Yasmina Khadra. A must-read

  5. I also just uploaded this book which is also interesting to read
    http://www.ouwet.com/fromisraeltodamascus.pdf

    From Israel to Damascus

  6. Dar El Akhdar

    It is very difficult to find resources or writings that objectively discuss the Israeli-Palestinian conflict since it is such an emotion-laden and divisive topic that never leaves a bystander indifferent (in this part of the world anyway)

    Here’s a couple of links that tackle the topic from different vantage points:

    * http://palestinechronicle.com/view_article_details.php?id=16069

    * http://www.normanfinkelstein.com/category/the-israel-palestine-conflict/

    * http://www.ifamericansknew.org

    * http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIpvrOJQ0J0

    (British MP giving his read on the conflict and the West’s pro-Israeli stance after the 2008 Israeli assault on Gaza)

  7. Mark any idea if the first book you posted is available in Lebanon?

    Most of the books I read about the Lebanese conflict are in French so I won’t be able to recommend anything. The only thing I can tell you is to make sure you read books written by both sides of the conflict.

  8. I don’t think so. I couldn’t even find a new copy of the book online, I ended up getting a second hand one which I lent to someone (forgot who) and never got it back. Doubt I can even find it as pdf..

  9. Nayla Rathle

    Fast Times in Palestine by Pamela Olson. A must read.

Leave a Reply

