Staying fit in Beirut City..

Why are gyms in the city so bloody expensive?  Ok I get it, gyms are a luxury..but do they really have to employ 50 trainers (who do nothing but gossip), have saunas and steam rooms (that no one uses), state of the art showers, free wifi, free coffee and soda, and a terrace?  NO!!

Keeping fit is important to me..yet the only gyms close to where I live are Fitness Zone and Lifestyles..which both cost 5 times more than what I’m accustom to paying back home..on average, membership fees at these two gyms range between $120.00 – $150.00 a month..and that’s not taking into account the initiation fee, trainer fee, as well as the first month and last month payment that they make you pay when you first sign up!!

That is the going rate for the most expensive gyms in NEW YORK FRIGGIN CITY!

Who has that kind of money to throw away?!  Especially when you’re living off of a Lebanese salary!

Are there any cheaper alternatives in Hamra?  I’m really, very interested.

This is a snapshot from the website of the gym I used to go to back in Miami, 24 hour fitness.  See that? $0 initiation fee, and monthly membership fees of between $24.99 to $64.99 a month! Now that’s how it’s done.

Fitness should be affordable for everyone..especially when there aren’t parks or outdoor spaces where people can run, exercise, and be active!

No wonder all I do here is EAT!

That’s it. I’ve decided.  I’m opening up a friggin’ gym!  Who’s with me?

22 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

22 responses to “Staying fit in Beirut City..

  1. Lipanantsi

    Give me a ballpark figure as to what I have to invest and what would be the return on investment?

    There more affordable gyms around town I think, but it won’t be a dive you’d wanna hang out in #justsayin.

    • meinlebanon

      100 milllllllllllllion dollars!

      But that is exactly my point..where is the middle ground?

      It really is soo frustrating!

  2. Micheline

    Yup… same situation here in Dubai!!! So short of opening my own gym, or until I can join yours (loool) I have taken to the streets!! I walk up to a track on a main road next to where I live. On the way there and back I use my weights. I run up and down the street (how many kms depends on the weather, 7-10 in winter and 3-5 now in 48 degrees) and after my run do the exercises with other walkers and runners. It is great fun, you meet all kinds of people and it is free!!! Try it on the Corniche some time. I’ll join you when I come to Beirut.🙂

  3. I’m definitely with you🙂

  4. Lipanantsi

    Second Paragraph, should say: THERE ARE….
    I apologize for the minor mistake. My mind is elsewhere tryin to entertain a certain smarty pants….

  5. I assume that you went and asked in Fitness First? It is the most expensive club I’ve ever went in and asked about. They make you sit for an hour telling you all about it and then ask you for so many fees you end up paying 500$. I was there with my sister asking, and I seriously did tell the guy “People here work a whole month to barely make $1000, and you’re asking me to give you that now?!”
    So yeah, walk the hell out of there. the most expensive gyms are ones people go to to socialize and meet people, certainly not to work out, sweat and stay fit, and you can see that with the type of clientele.
    I used to go to Avalon which was around 89$ per month, but I am not sure if it’s more expensive now. You can definitely find very cheap gyms around, but probably not in hamra.

  6. there is a small but very nice(nicely priced too) gym in hamra, it’s on a side street near the international red cross office. i can get the details, email me🙂

  7. I think you’re going to the wrong gyms! I went to the Hoops gym for a couple of monthes the fees were 40$/month!

  8. TheOtherSide

    Hey i know one in Ashrafieh! lool

    Le Gym
    Sioufi – Lala Bldg
    Achrafieh – Beirut
    Tel: +961 1 322816

    But i asked my friends and they sent me to this site, so i did some research.

    One month membership at the Rotana Gefinor hotel -Hamra district.

    Option 1: Gym + swimming pool access 125 USD + 10% V.A.T.

    Option 2: Gym access only 100 USD + 10% V.A.T.

    Option 3: Gym access only from 6:00 a.m. till 4:00 p.m.from Monday till Friday 75 USD + 10% V.A.T.

    One month membership at the Radisson SAS Martinez Hotel Phoenicia street Ain el Mreisseh district

    Option 1: gym + swimming pool from 6:00 a.m. till 3:00 p.m. 75 USD

    Option 2: gym + swimming pool from 6:00 a.m. till 10:00 p.m. 100 USD

  9. I always wonder how the lebanese put up with such high Gym memberships in Beirut too. It is cheaper for you to buy a treadmill, a bike and some weights and practice at home🙂

  10. Bee

    Back in the days Mont La Salle had a nice gym at an affordable price. It’s a bit far from the city though.

  11. I go to the swimming pool in Mont La Salle!
    It’s close & you don’t get stuck in traffic😀

  12. Problem is in Lebanon that all the simple basic things are luxuriuos art of living (while they are human rights everyplace outside Lebanon) . Having 24/7 electricity is luxury, going to gym is luxury, filling your car with gasoline is luxury…want me to list more?

  13. Ghaji

    I was just trying to find a fitness center in Hamra when
    I came across your letter. I do not live in Lebanon but I am a constant visitor. I also need to find a gym cos I am soon coming to stay for a whole month in Beirut. Any more help, or should I stick to my one hour walk?
    Ghaji

  14. Jad

    I’ve seen rats, insects and illegal employment ( for people who illegally were brought to Lebanon ) in maybe the most “expensive gym “in Beirut , money doesn’t make them clean , calm or pleasant. that is called robbery , but sadly there is no alternatives …:S

  15. Karo

    Just been to G-Spa in Achraieh- they told me $250 per month!!!!!! Just for a gym and few classes they have from mon-sat. What a rip off!!! Why in Lebanon everywhere you go people try to rip you off?

  16. Hi
    I’m thinking about taking prohormones, do you think this
    is good idea for advanced bodybuilder like me? Bodybuilders
    are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles, just google
    for – 100% pure muscles without side effects –
    worth a try?

    • BDM

      Hi Cole,
      I am looking at trying prohormones also, I hit the gym 6 days a week and looking for something to reach the next level. Been living in Beirut for the last 6 months and trying to locate a good source here. Any advice cheers

  17. In fact when someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other viewers that they will help, so here it takes place.

Leave a Reply

