I hope I taught him a lesson..

I was standing outside “Wok It” on Bliss Street when I observed two guys coming out of Malak al Tawouk with their bags of food.

Malak al Tawouk Bliss Street

Malak al Tawouk on Bliss Street

I stood there and observed them..making a note of their tight pants, their button downs that seemed to be bursting at the seams (why do Lebanese men insist on wearing clothes that are too tight for them?), their slicked back hair..I watched their movements, their behavior….I listened to them gossiping although I couldn’t understand a word they said.

I could almost predict what was coming next..

One of the guys, who must not have been a day over twenty, took out his sandwich, crumpled up the bag, and threw it on the floor..He couldn’t even be bothered to walk a couple of steps and throw it in the garbage..

Littering in Lebanon

I took this picture after the guys left. The guy was standing right by the moped when he threw the bag on the floor, with the garbage can only a few steps away. How shameful!

I was furious, disgusted, ashamed.  How could he do that to his own country?  To beautiful Lebanon?

I wanted to say something but I didn’t know if I should..after all, what business of it is mine if a person decides its ok to litter their own country..

And then it hit me, “This is my world too, and I will not stand by and watch someone else destroy it..because if I do, that makes me just as guilty.”

And with that, I opened my big mouth..“Umm..excuse me..I’m sorry..but their is a garbage can right there.  You really shouldn’t destroy your country like that..”

The two guys, who now looked like boys, stared at me in disbelief.  The litterer went back and picked up the bag he threw carelessly on the floor..he held his head down low while he shoved it in the garbage…his friend turned to me and muttered something in Arabic.

My friends came outside to see what was going on.

“Jeeze! We leave you for one second and you’re already causing a scene! What happened?”

I told them what had happened..

“You know Dani, it’s really not a good idea to react like that.. you’re lucky that they didn’t retaliate.  Especially cause you’re not Lebanese..Why do you even care?” one of my friends said..

“Really? What would they have done?  Attacked me? Pleaseeeee..He needed to be taught a lesson..”

My friends laughed and shook their heads. “Your lucky..” they kept on saying..

Why was I so upset about this person littering?  Perhaps because Lebanon is slowly becoming the place I call home..and perhaps because I really do think that change begins with one.  I hope he thinks of me next time he goes to throw something on the floor..the next time he goes to spit on his beautiful Lebanon.

I hope I taught him a lesson.

27 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

27 responses to “I hope I taught him a lesson..

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I hope I taught him a lesson.. « This is Beirut -- Topsy.com

  2. You are absolutely right. Good going, Danielle! Retaliate or not, next time, the probability of him even considering walking over to the trash-can are higher. Baby steps…
    Thanks for sharing and thank you for doing that🙂

  3. That’s the spirit !
    I’m not sure you actually taught him a lesson, but I’d definitely would like to see more people with your attitude. Keep it up !

  4. I hope he learned a lesson. Sadly, most will do this over & over. It’s a shame that many people here don’t appreciate their country and won’t bother to help preserve its beauty.

  5. I am glad you reacted, more people should make it a point and stand up to these litterers. i wondered if he would have liked having someone throw a napkin in his living room.

  6. Well done indeed!
    Its sick really…I walk through Dora on my way to work everyday and I notice so much litter and filth on the floor it makes me sick!

    What you did is what we all should be doing and yet most of us will comment like your friends did…but we should stand up and make ourselves heard no matter what!

    I have the same issue with smoking…its allowed inside the office…and we all know the creative dept. its filled with smokers! I did my part and let my CEO know its not acceptable (even though other smokers are keeping it shut for some reason).

    people have been conditioned to keep it shut in this country…or else we all would be living elsewhere.

  7. way to go dani !!😀 its a shame how they litter…😦

  8. That rude motherfucker!

    The trash can was only a step away. I hate it when people do that.

    I’m glad u did something about it and spoke up! I would want to think I would yell at him too if I saw him do that, but I don’t think I would.

    Yeah he’s Lebanese and it’s his country but NO! The fucker is wrong! As u said…it’s ur world too🙂

  9. I’m curious though, would this story have been any different had there been no trash can in sight ?

    Dani would you still have scolded the guy then, or would you have felt you had a weaker case in the absence of a trash can?

  10. In a way what you did — although the right thing — is not the Lebanese way🙂

    We usually watch them litter then curse them behind their backs to anyone willing to listen.

    This way, we shirk confrontation AND still get credit for being someone who doesn’t litter.

  11. Fares

    Well done Dani! Would have done the same! Bravo!

    And I believe you ARE Lebanese, it’s not just about having the passport ; )

  12. Dar El Akhdar

    Kudos to you Dani!
    I can picture him picking up his litter in shame😀

    And if anything – the fact that you’re foreign actually HELPS in such situations

    Keep it up! (whenever you can :D)

  13. Haitham Al-Sheeshany

    What u did was right.
    I salute u.

    H.

  14. Simon

    Your mate was exaggerating and overreacting to the situation.
    You did a great thing by telling them off, and you definitely taught the dushbag a lesson.

    Thanx for caring for your adopted country😉

  15. BeirutiAdventures

    Like I said… you are my HERO. For the life of me I cannot understand why the living hell do these people litter the streets of such a beautiful city. I’m so happy you told him! I mean he should be ASHAMED a non-Lebanese is teaching him how to treat his own country. Good for you!

    I think you got so angry with him because this is YOUR Lebanon now as well!

  16. My friend once saw a guy litter from his car window, but they were stuck in traffic, so what she did, was she went out of her car, picked up the kleenex (tissue paper) and went towards him, she said:

    “I believe this is yours”
    🙂 and yes you were lucky, maybe because they were young, and you’re a pretty lady, but hehe… let’s just say, it’s not always a good experience telling people not to litter. But kudos for trying.

  17. najla

    welcome to lebanon girl. thanks for taking it into your own hands and possibly changing one person in that country, slowly but surely a change is gonna come. ps. i miss lebanon so much, your blog will keep me connected to everything i miss and love so much….11 more months to go.

  18. Joanna

    Danielle! Excellent! I feel like screaming at the idiots who do that all the time.. But you really are very lucky that they weren’t assholes.. I didn’t anticipate that type of reaction at all

  19. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Metel-Ma-Shelta-%D9%85%D8%AA%D9%84-%D9%85%D8%A7-%D8%B4%D9%84%D8%AA%D8%A7/335357166488918
    On the back of the fake money: “just like you picked me up, you can just as easily pick up trash off the street”

Leave a Reply

