My first Ramadan..

So, it is officially Ramadan,,as of yesterday, or was it the day before?  Someone told me it starts on different days for different people..why is that?

Well, this should be an interesting time for me, as it is the first time I’m experiencing Ramadan in a Middle Eastern country..What have I observed so far?  Well..the most noticeable thing has been that driving in Lebanon has become,,well..PLEASANT!  Never thought I’d say that..but yes..it seems that the road rage has drastically subsided making driving even during rush hour a pleasant experience..

What else?  Well, in general there seems to be a general feeling of calm that has blanketed the country..I kind of like it..

So, which one of you is going to invite me over to experience my first Iftar? 😉

What else do I have to look forward to and expect for the remainder of Ramadan?

Ramadan Mubarak!

13 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

13 responses to “My first Ramadan..

  1. BeirutiAdventures

    Ramadan In Lebanon is one of my favourite times of the year! It feels so comfortable, and relaxing and all the crazyness is gone, like you said. The reason Ramadan starts on two days is because Sunnis and Shiites start on different days… almost like how Catholics and Orthodox celebrate Easter differently…. but the traditions are ultimately the same. One of the things I loved was the “nasheed” that used to be played from the mosques, during and after Iftar. I have a friend here, who is Maronite, who’s parents and grandmother are in Lebanon now specifically for Ramadan (they flew down for it). Keep room in your tummy because it’s a time of sharing, and if you have Muslim neighbors, be sure that they will knock on your door to hand you a plate of food they have prepared. 🙂

    Enjoy it. Ramadan and Easter are my favorite times in Lebanon!

    • meinlebanon

      I will enjoy it! Hopefully I’ll experience an Iftar for myself..As usual, thank you for your commentssss 😉

    • sophie

      hi, i love your anecdote about your Maronite friend whose family is coming especially for Ramadan…
      I am a French journalist based in Beirut. Do you think it’s possible to interview them about it?
      Please call me 03 22 09 89
      Thank u !
      Sophie

  2. Unfortunately, during the last year, due to political and bureaucratic reasons, the various Muslim sects have been increasingly at dissent concerning Ramadan days, as well as other holidays. Think of it as the same segregation that has occurred with the celebration of Christmas and Easter in Christian sects.BTW usually driving gets worse in Ramadan, but since we were use to the ‘touristy’ traffic, once they have left we felt that it has gotten better.

    • meinlebanon

      Hmm..perhaps I’m mistaken then..Perhaps it is because the tourists have left, that the traffic has subsided..Why does the traffic get worse? Thanks for the clarification, either way..I’m enjoying it for now!

  3. Driving got better? Say what? Usually it gets much much worse. Yesterday when I went out the streets were kinda empty (it was a dead time) so it was fairly easy to drive, but I don’t know about other times.
    Enjoy your Ramadan here 🙂 Beware of people’s mood swings, and maybe we could organize an iftar tweetup!

  4. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  5. Dar El Akhdar

    I love it in Ramadan when I go to the “taraweeh” prayers at night – you see people overflowing from the mosques, to the extent that I prayed yesterday evening on the pavement! (covered with extra rugs placed for the occasion, of course 🙂

    Take a stroll in the streets of Ras Beirut after the fast-breaking meal, toward the night prayer – see how the streets become alive again 🙂

    And experiencing Ramadan in Saida and Tripoli is a must – it’s more anchored in history over there

    More info on Ramadan in this great interactive slideshow: http://bit.ly/dlqgde

    • meinlebanon

      Your comments are always such a joy to read..I’m checking out the slideshow now..I havent been to neither Tripoli nor Saida yet! I must go!

  6. Yep. It’s Ramadan again and you’re right… there is always that warm blanket of “pleasantness” that accompanies Ramadan.

    Quite to the contrary of what you’ve been experiencing with regards to street rage subsiding… My personal experience would have to drop the lower lip a bit in surprise. I would have expected it to increase as more Fasting people hit the road make it a bit more tense.

    Hope you enjoy your first Ramadan in a Middle Eastern city.

  7. Yep. It’s Ramadan again and you’re right… there is always that warm blanket of “pleasantness” that accompanies Ramadan.

    Quite to the contrary of what you’ve been experiencing with regards to street rage subsiding… My personal experience would have to drop the lower lip a bit in surprise. I would have expected it to increase as more Fasting people hit the road make it a bit more tense.

    Hope you enjoy your first Ramadan in a Middle Eastern city.

Leave a Reply

