What does your name mean?

I woke up this morning with an idea for a post in my head (don’t you just love when that happens)..I sat in bed remembering how I had asked a friend why the name “Kareem” was after Ramadan..and why everyone was saying “Ramadan Kareem..”

“Isn’t Kareem the name of one of your friends?” I asked..

“Kareem means “generous” in Arabic,” he told me. ย “Most people’s names have a meaning in Arabic. Take mine for example: Mounir. ย The islamic translation of Mounir, is the one who enlightens your path, symbolically of course… However, back in beginning of the century in Alexandria, the men who would walk in the streets and light up the gas lamp posts lining the streets, were also called “Mounirs” as they would enlighten your path, literally..”

What a nice story. ย Can’t say my name has any symbolic meaning. BOOORING.

So now, I turn to you..what does your name mean?

49 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

49 responses to “What does your name mean?

  1. BeirutiAdventures

    Ali – the meaning of my name means “High” “highest”, “most exalted”, “noble”, “sublime” or “elevated”. Aliya is the female version of my name, having the same meaning. It’s funny because these names have such large meanings, but can we really live up to them?

    • meinlebanon

      For real! It’s like your parents are attempting to determine your destiny, your path in life, with a name like that! Oh Ali, the sublime!

      • BeirutiAdventures

        Such a hard name to live up to! I wish they would have named me something French… it would have been a lot easier! haha

      • BeirutiAdventures

        P.s. my last name is violent. we’re not talking about my last name ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. We forgot that each and everyone of us was named in regards to what their parents were feverish about!
    I guess my dad and mom knew I was going to turn out to be a hard kid, tom boyish through my childhood and just slim, slick and smart yet a sucker for making mistakes when I grow up.
    Rasha has 2 meanings- son of a dear, and the 2nd meaning is the soft rain on a sunny day.
    They were aiming at the 1st meaning ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I’m fast, witty yet very hysterical at times- son of Deer ๐Ÿ˜›

    Good motive in this Dani Girl ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • meinlebanon

      That is so strange! “Son of a deer” yet your a girl? hahaha only you Rasha, only you..I think I like the second one..the soft rain on a sunny day..although we all know ur anything but soft!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention What does your name mean? ยซ This is Beirut -- Topsy.com

  4. Your name is not boring. It means “God is my judge” apparently.

    http://www.thinkbabynames.com/meaning/0/Danielle

  5. My name is of African origin, it means “The Black Man”.

  6. First name is Meaningful. Last name is Assistance. So I’m Meaningful Assistance!

  7. Your name does have a meaning.

    The Biblical name “Daniel” means:

    “God is my judge”

    Every day’s a school day.

    • meinlebanon

      Why the hell would my parents name me that?!?!?? haha …

      • Mom

        Well, to be honest, what it meant did not factor into the decision! It just sounded like a beautiful name … for a beautiful baby girl ๐Ÿ™‚ But now that I think about it, it is not a bad thing to live by the motto “God is my judge”!

  8. won’t tell my name … still undercover ๐Ÿ˜‰
    but as mentioned in the previous comment , your name is not boring at all !
    actually it is one of my favorites .

  9. KJ

    My name means “that which covers/protects everything”. Alternative is the “red velvet cloak of kings”.

  10. Hussam

    My name means the cutting edge of the sword/blade… So u’d better not mess with me ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. My name means ‘philosopher’. Don’t know what my parents were thinking.

  12. (Gavri’el) meaning “strong man of God”. Gabriel was one of the seven archangels in Hebrew tradition. He appears in both the Old Testament and the New Testament, where he serves as the announcer of the births of John to Zechariah and Jesus to Mary.

    According to Islamic tradition he was the angel who dictated the Qur’an to Muhammad.

    I just love how my name features in 3 religions!

  13. Simon

    Simon, it is of Hebrew origin, and the meaning is “to hear, to be heard.”

    So when “Simon says”, he’s “to be heard” ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Dar El Akhdar

    Rabih (pronounced Ra-Bee-3e) literally means “spring” in Arabic ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S. The “3e” sound at the end of the word should be pronounced from the throat – kinda like the beginning of a wolf’s howl ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Tarek El-Moukachar

    Y’all got nothing on me….

    Tarek El-Moukachar ุทุงุฑู‚ ุงู„ู…ู‚ุดุฑ

    Is there a family name Batata? That would totally suck if a lady from the Batata family married a guy from the El-Moukachar family.

  16. For most Arabic names, it is easy to guess the meaning if you know Arabic, so you can just check the definition of the word in a disctionary.

    My name means a river in heaven with wine and honey ๐Ÿ™‚
    You’ve started a trend Danielle ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I can’t find the english word for my name, it means rosรฉe, the rain of the early morning that you tend to find on leaves and flowers. According to google languages, it’s called dew. Now if you use my name to refer to it, no one will understand what you want to say, but that is what my name means. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • meinlebanon

      That’s beautiful Riham..the morning dew..the early morning is the most beautiful, most pure time of the day..

      You all have such beautiful names!

  18. My family name “Sadaka” in Arabic has two meanings depending on how you pronouce it:
    * If you stress on the middle “a” in “Sadรขka” it means “Friendship”.
    * If you say it with no special stress on any letter it will mean: “Charity” or “Philanthropy”.
    My name Bernard is of German origins: “Bern Hard” meaning the brave bear!
    Now my sister’s first name is more intriguing: “Guilnard” or in Arabic pronunciation “Jilnar” which is the Arabic meaning for “The flower of Pomegranate”.
    Cool! no?

    Great post btw,
    Interesting no?
    keep it going…

    B

  19. jennifer

    Apparently my name means Fair Phantom Or White Wave whatever that is :S and it has an English origin and a variant from the Welsh name Gwynhwyfar ( Thank God my parents didn’t name me that ) i just know i was named this way because my older sister had a friend at school whose name she liked (but she hated the girl if i may add!!!) plus it was a modern approach for my Grandma name Genevieve
    Cool post it got me into googling my name:)

  20. Cute post.. I didn’t know the meaning of some of the Arabic names myself..
    My online nickname ‘nights’ is actually what my real name ‘Layal’ means in english.

  21. Tal

    I love reading this post. It’s really cute.
    My first name, Tala means a small date-carrying palm tree. Which is no wonder that I turned out to be an environmentally-conscious person. ๐Ÿ˜› It also means star in Talong (language spoken in the Phillipines). I like both definitions ๐Ÿ™‚
    My last name is the turkish word for either brother or friend. So yes, I’m a friendly tree ๐Ÿ˜›

  22. Bana

    my name is the species of a gum tree. LOL. kind of random

  23. Martin Scott

    Now I am up to date and love them all. This last one is especially inspired as names have meanings in all cultures as far as I know. Amazingly it is possible to know , in India, from what village and caste a person originally came , just by hearing their name. Similarly in China I believe. Despite the hundreds of millions of people ! if I am wrong someone will correct me soon enough.
    Still learning,
    Grumpy

  24. Charbel Kamal

    I’ve read once that my name (pronounced Sherbil) has Greek origins (something like Serbilios, not sure though) and it means, just as “Ali” and “Sami”, โ€œhighโ€ or โ€œelevatedโ€. On the other hand, my family name is a 100% Arabic word and it means “perfection”.

  25. My name

    Bahij: arabic; means happy
    Ryan: irish; king arabic; river in heaven
    Attiyeh: arabic; gift

  26. My name is like yours “God is my judge”.

    In Arabic “Dany” means near or close.

  27. Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained! I’m sure you had fun writing this article. Thank you

  28. Why is it that the blanks were already filled ?
    oh and by the way, I’m not Riham, my name is “Imad” as in General.. I think, plus Lebanese people are forgetting their origins and culture by naming their children new-aged and popular names. I hope we could keep our culture alive without degenerating back to what we were, but also without turning into something our ancestors had feared ages ago.

  29. Wassim Abdel-Baki

    well my name Wassim, it means handsome, and Abdel-Baki, Abd el baki; abd means slave, baki is one of 99 names of God which means “immortal” or “everlasting”, so i guess i’m the “handsome slave of the everlasting/immortal/God” lol

Leave a Reply

