The first Lebanese food item I’m not crazy about..

Had kaak for the first time this weekend.. And…I think it’s the first food item I’ve encountered in Lebanon that I don’t absolutely love!

Kaak Lebanon

Kaak

Although, I have to say, I love their distinct shape and watching them go round and round in the store front..but nothing beats watching an old man stroll by with a bike full of kaak..

What a sight! Doesn’t he look like such a character?  I’m sure he has some stories to tell..now if I only I could speak Arabic..😉

Kaak along the Raouche

Selling kaak along the Raouche..

25 Comments

Filed under eating in Lebanon, life in Lebanon

25 responses to “The first Lebanese food item I’m not crazy about..

  1. That’s too bad – I love them! I think its been 5 years since I had one. Flying in to Beirut for 48 hours on Thursday – will definitely pick one up.

    • Simon

      Jad, it’s been 10 years since i had one😦
      It’s funny, i go lebanon every year, and they never came to mind! now that Danielle posted about it, i want one, with cheese😀

      • meinlebanon

        10 years? wow! Don’t you pass by stores selling it? Glad I reminded you to get one next time you’re here!

    • meinlebanon

      only 48 hours? not long enough!

      • Yeah, flying in and out for a wedding. But I can completely understand Simon. I don’t know why I’ve never thought about them before – I’m seriously craving them.

  2. The ones in Tripoli are better😛 , you should try those out (of course I’ll say that🙂 )

  3. I’m having one right now, with Picon cheese and Sumac….. I think u’ll have to get used to the taste before you attached to it!!!

  4. Dar El Akhdar

    Noooo Dani!
    How could you?!😀

    How did you try it?

    Usually they serve it with black thyme (zaatar) or red sumac, with the addition of Picon or Smeds cheese spread.

    HOWEVER…

    My secret recipe – and you should try it! – is as follows:

    Kaak with red sumac, Picon spread cheese and Lays salt chips…

    WOW!

  5. Yes Moustafa is right, teh Tripoli Kaa3ke looks completely different and tastes a million times better.

    • meinlebanon

      They do look completely different! They remind me of something called arepas that we have back home in Miami..well they’re actually from Colombia..but they are everywhere in Miami..I’ll have to try one when I go to Tripoli!

  6. Loooool! It’s one of the things we dream of when we are out of Lebanon. The first thing I do when I come back is go in front of AUH and get one!!!! When I used to come on holiday and go back to London, it was the only thing I’d take back with me for friends who were missing kaak so much. Give it another try with picon or vache qui rit cheese and summak. hehehe🙂

  7. Don’t talk to me anymore…

    You don’t like ka3ek? you probably tried a bad one, I will take you to a good one..,. akhhhhhhhh dani akhhhhh you have so much to learn lol

  8. Welllll I’ll have to agree. I like the way it tastes with thyme and picon, but it’s mostly that I like rather than the actual ka3ek. It’s too hard on the teeth.. A lot of people seem to love it though, so you may want to try out their suggestions just in case. (Hint: it’s not good!)

  9. Girl, it’s part of the Lebanese experience to eat a Ka3ek from the guy on the street!!

    It’s aight.

    Glad ur ok with other Lebanese food though!

  10. mariam

    A) I agree with Mustapha.. the Tripoli version is sooo much better. Sorry Beirutis, you beat us at other things- leave the ka3kes to us😛.
    b) Store bought is not the way to go- I’m not crazy about store bought either- it’s not good at all and doesn’t give a ka3ke any credit.
    c) Buy a cheese and sumac one (2 in 1) off the street.

    I’m shocked you didn’t enjoy it too much but give it a try again off the street.

    Finally, a street food I recommend (if you haven’t tried yet) is baleleh … or fol and hummus off the street with lemon and sumac and cumin… you can find those on the courniche probably. Hope you enjoy that. It’s a treat like no other.

  11. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  12. nicolaze

    Mmmmh I prefer the Abou Arab Version, directly from the bakery (hot)

  13. U should try Abu Arab’s they are a treat, u can find them on the highway to the north or south outside of beirut

  14. Pingback: Kaak bi Knefeh « This is Beirut

Leave a Reply

