Shock and awe part 2!

Smoking in Lebanon

A cigarette pack from Egpyt

Remember my post a couple of months ago, about how the Lebanese health ministry isn’t doing enough to raise awareness about the harmful effects of first hand and second hand smoke?  Well, the post came to mind when I came across this pack of cigarettes that my friend from Egypt was smoking from.  Obviously, he didn’t heed the warning, but at least I can commend the awareness efforts of the Egyptian health ministry!

What do you think?  Do we need something like this in Lebanon, or is it too shocking?

8 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

8 responses to “Shock and awe part 2!

  1. We have that in Lebanon too. They sell those in the Beirut Duty Free at the airport..

  2. Hmm..really? I’ve been here for 9 months and all of my friends smoke and I have never seen a visual like that on any cigarette box..I’m not talking about the brand, but the picture on the box..is it possible that they only sell them in the airport to cater to the tastes of people from abroad?

  3. Hahahaa.. I was shocked when I saw this at the first time too.. a freind of mine visited Lebanon a month ago, and i saw it with her.. I was like ( U R KIDDING ME) how dare they put such graphic!!
    I find inappropriate.

  4. Hahahaa.. I was shocked when I saw this at the first time too.. a friend of mine visited Lebanon a month ago, and i saw it with her.. I was like ( U R KIDDING ME) how dare they put such graphic!!
    I find inappropriate.

  5. Joseph

    Dany, its not inappropriate. Nothing is when it comes to smoking.

  6. Reading a book now on Neuromarketing that has proved that health labels on cigratte packs, no matter how gruesome, over time only incite smokers more due to conditioning – Check out Buyology if you have time.

  7. In response to the question posted at the end of that… “is this too shocking…”… I don’t think anything is shocking for Beirut…

    They have the same picture warning on cigarette packs here in Jordan as they did, of course, in Canada as well.

    I’m not sure, and I won’t Google it, and I don’t want you to either… heh… but I believe they resorted to using image (picture) warnings after a lawsuit was won by someone who claimed he got cancer from smoking and could not “read” and so was not able to understand the literary warning on cigarette packs.

Leave a Reply

