Hamra Street festival..Day 2

*I’ll keep this one short and sweet, seeing that a lot of other bloggers have already written about the Hamra Street Festival..

On Saturday I made my way back to the festival at around 5:00pm, eager to see what vendors would be there.  I mistakenly assumed that the Festival was only going to be a showcase of local bands, and that the vendors would be few in number..when in fact, it was quite the opposite!  The streets were lined with vendors as far as the eye could see..

Needless to say, I must have walked up and down Hamra street five times..determined to find gifts for my friends and family back home (and maybe one or two things for myself!)  Yesssssssssss, I’m one of those shoppers who has to see EVERYTHING before I make a purchase..you know, in case I see something better and I’ve already spent all of my money on something else!  There is no returning items at festivals, now is there. 😉

My friends quickly tired of following me around and broke away to do their own thing – eat.  Who has time to EAT?!?  I have shopping to do! “ I thought to myself. “It’s ok, it’s all good,,I like shopping alone anyway..” and with that, I went right back to it.  And I’m glad I did.  I found everything I was looking for.  Gifts for Mom, Dad, the brother and sister (she was the hardest!), the grandparents, the best friends, and a little something for myself..it was GREAT!

Below are some photos from Saturday:

I was with a couple from Canada, who had never had Malak al Towouk before..I suggested they tried it.  They were hooked with their first bite!

Hamra Street Festival

Malak al Tawouk

In addition to food vendors like the above, you also had your more traditional food vendors selling roasted corn, and this bean concoction..(I’m not exactly sure what it’s called..)

Hamra Street Festival

Food vendor at the Hamra Festival

There were a lot of things that I wanted to buy and take home to my family..paintings, furniture, giant photographs on canvas..but I knew they would be impossible to transport..

Hamra street festival

Paintings at the festival..

There was a lot of hype around the “Tree Shirts” stand, as well as “Cocoa” sweets stand..two of the more popular vendors during the festival..

Hamra Street Festival

Tree Shirt booth..

Hamra Street Festival

yummy yummy for my tummy!

Watching these men walk by, with a swarm of balloons overhead, put a smile to my face..

Hamra Street Festival

balloons anyone?

But as we all know, going to festival isn’t only about shopping, listening to music, or eating..but about people watching too!   These men had the best seats in the house, or in this case,,the festival.

Hamra Street Festival

Had to snap a photo of these guys..I think they are permanent fixtures at Costa in Hamra..

I hope to see you next year Hamra Street Festival!

9 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

9 responses to “Hamra Street festival..Day 2

  1. I don’t like Hamra but that looks cool

  2. I love Hamra. i live there and it’s a great place.
    I hope to see Hamra festival next year

  3. Joseph

    will definitly come back next year! It was a blast!

  4. I think the beans you were talking about were lupin seeds (termas, sp?). If you haven’t tried them they are a bit like boiled peanuts, but much better.

  5. Ebyking

    I leeeeeeeeeeeeeve these!

  6. BeirutiAdventures

    Edmonton is the city of street festivals… I always wished Beirut would do more of them, as they ultimately could be pretty fun, and something for EVERYONE to do. Great pics, and great event!

    • meinlebanon

      I agree..! Miami is also a city of street festivals..I think there is one almost every weekend, especially during the cooler months. I hope that people realize the worth in hosting more festivals in the future.. 😉

  7. I hope you bought some of those cocoa brownies, they are the BEST.

Leave a Reply

