Halls. Medicated cough drop or candy?

Happened to be watching the news on MTV..don’t ask me why because I couldn’t understand a word that was being said..but it probably had something to do with the amount of makeup one of the anchors had on..when the program broke to commercial.  And what comes on?  A Halls commercial…which struck me as kind of odd, because it was more of a candy commercial than a commercial for a medicated cough drop, which is what I’ve always know Halls to be..

Halls commercials

Typical Halls print ad that you would find in a magazine in the US, advertising Halls as a medicated product perfect for flu season

photo credit.

And then I remembered how at work, people pop Halls like it IS candy..and every time they offer me one, I can’t help but stare at them with a perplexed expression and think to myself “does it look like I have a cold?”  But after doing some research, it seems that Lebanon is not the only country where Halls is sold/consumed as a candy..

According to wikipedia,

“In some parts of the world, including Brazil, Argentina, and the Philippines, Halls is advertised as a mentholated hard candy and is not recognized as a medicine for coughs. In the UK, Halls Extra Strong has recently dropped all mention of an active ingredient (or of coughs) from the packaging, which now describes the contents as “Extra Strong Original flavour hard boiled sweets.”

Anyway, not that this is of particular interest to anyone, I just happen to find it interesting that a product which is used to sooth sore throats in the States, is marketed and consumed in Lebanon as a candy!

Below, you will find a typical Halls commercial from the States.  Very different from the ones you find in Lebanon.

7 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

7 responses to “Halls. Medicated cough drop or candy?

  1. haissam

    i actually use halls as a breath freshener when i run out of gum :S I mean most Lebanese people know that halls is good when you have a sore throat, but its known as a candy which could benefit you when you’re sick, interesting post though😛

  2. Interesting. Who knew.

    When I do have a cold- I do pop it like candy but because I figure the more I take – the faster my cold/cough will disappear.

  3. Well when I have a sore throat, I do find halls to be relaxing but I never think of it as “medicated”. I always thought that was one of the myths I chose to believe. I don’t think it’d be easy for halls to reposition themselves as cough drops here.

  4. Hello thanks for yet another very interesting post. Where do you find your inspiration for all this :|?

    • meinlebanon

      Good question.! I don’t know really, it just comes at random intervals.. and sometimes it doesn’t come at all! ;( I just try my best to keep my eyes and ears open at all times..😀

  5. Hey very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

  6. I drop a comment whenever I appreciate a post on a site or if I have something to
    valuable to contribute to the conversation. Usually it’s caused by the passion displayed in the article I read. And on this article Halls. Medicated cough drop or candy? | This is Beirut. I was moved enough to drop a thought😉 I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be simply me or does it appear like a few of these comments come across
    like written by brain dead folks?😛 And, if you are writing
    on other sites, I’d like to follow you. Would you make a list every one of your shared sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

