It’s funny how life works..

So much good has been happening recently, and it’s really made me think.

We work and work and work towards that big break that we hope will come soon.  We spend hours planning, preparing, and rehearsing..visualizing in our mind what it would be like..  We talk to our friends, our family, and our significant others about it.  We create mood boards, and even dream about it..

And then one day, it happens.

Just like that.

Almost in a blink of an eye.  When we were least expecting it.  When we had almost lost hope.

And then suddenly, the anticipation turns into excitement, and then excitement into fear.  For suddenly, we’re afraid to lose it!

Funny how life works.

Just a thought I had today. 😀

Anticipation Hold on tight

image credit

13 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

13 responses to “It’s funny how life works..

  1. I know exactly what you mean especially the part about fear. When you finally get what you want or when you feel like things are finally starting to work you have this irrational fear. I don’t know maybe it’s just the fear of the unknown, like…thinking “what if the thing I spent my life dreaming about is not as important or as satisfying as it should be”? Just my two bits on the issue 🙂

    • DanielleB.

      I understand exactly what you mean about satisfaction..!! But to me, the fear manifests sometimes in self doubt..”am I really worth this, do I deserve this, how do I hold on to all of this good?” And you’re right, its an irrational fear..and something that I hope I’ll understand one day. 😀 Thx for the comment.

  2. It’s true that the best things come when you least expect them!
    You should just keep a positive outlook on things and try to make the best of what you already have… the MORE that you are looking for will come along soon enough!
    And about feeling afraid of losing what you just got, it’s only normal and part of the process. I think that fear drives us to perform better and to appreciate what we have a lot more!!
    So whatever it is you’re doing, keep doing it and give it your all.. Even if the results are not immediate, they will not be long to start appearing! And, Sooner than you think, you will be getting anything you aspire to!

  3. Funny how I love this post so much! hehe
    it kind of reminds me of how I think. and write…a lot of the stuff I’ve learned from great leaders for the past few years.

    I believe excitement brings more excitement, passion brings more moments of passion, and joy will inevitably bring more joy. I remembered a saying: give and you shall receive, ten folds. Which is so true!

    Its always great to dream, for everything starts a simple thought 🙂
    Ask (dream). believe (as if the dream is already yours). receive (“And then one day, it happens. Just like that.”)

    and may the joy be with you 🙂

  4. Enjoy it, embrace it… the fear is part of the excitement. Good luck 🙂

  5. I couldn’t agree more, what we’ve been waiting for always flies away too soon after we get it..I need that Christmas break, I just feel like khalaaaas more hectic days and I collapse! Love the thought Danielle 🙂

  6. Funny how I smiled while reading this post …
    Great one Danielle 🙂
    Cheers!

  7. Your post describe a event in my life, sadly my fears were justified. Thanks u put a smile on my face.

  8. Tarek (NTSC)

    There are two kinds of fear Danielle, one that cripples you and what that pushes you forward. Oddly, the symptom of “am-I-worth-it?” is very prevalent among succesful women. Whole scientific researches have been done about it, and it turns out it is s a vicious circle – the more succesful they are, the more they feel undeserving, the more they self-doubt, the more they push themselves to achieve more, only to have even MORE responsibility thrown upon their shoulders, and so they become MORE succesful, they feel MORE underserving, they doubt themselves MORE, and hey push themselve (you got it!) to acheive even MORE. Repeat cycle!
    Just go out and do it Dany. Later you’ll analyze!

  9. I don’t know what others have said exactly. I read a few. But I think part of the fear is this idea of will it last?

    Happiness and success I’ve realized are moments. They come and they go. The moment you reach a certain kind of success – the excitement about it goes away. I think the feeling is normal. I also think women or men we go through that.

  10. You took the words right out of my mouth! It’s really odd, how we wait for something and when we finally have it, fear takes over. But I guess that is exactly what makes life exciting! If you’re ONLY happy then there is nothing to look forward to, right?

  11. Fatima

    I came across this post recently and you just described how I’m feeling right now.

Leave a Reply

