When was the last time you sent a letter?

Warning: This post is cheesy.

Like seriously took the time to grab a pen and paper, envelope, and stamp and just write your heart out.  Well, if you’re anything like me, you haven’t done it in years!

I realized this when my Grandfather asked me to mail a postcard to him.  Apparently one of his neighbors in Austin, Texas loves to collects stamps, and doesn’t have one from this region, let alone this country..

I miss receiving letters.  I have a box at home where I keep every postcard, letter, and love letter that I ever received.  But as of a couple of years ago, the contents stopped growing as letters were replaced with emails, e-cards, facebook messages, and text messages, and it’s not like you print out e-cards now do yah.. Sighh.. At least I’ll have something to show my children, but will my children have anything to show theirs?

Anyway, I digress!!  Not that this has much significance, but I posted my first Lebanese postcard today..and licked my first Lebanese stamp (eww I know.)

Here’s to hoping it arrives!

Stamp collecting in Lebanon

When was the last time you licked a stamp?

9 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

9 responses to “When was the last time you sent a letter?

  1. I know… I only do that at Christmastime, when I post the cards. This year I didn’t even do that! I miss receiving handwritten letters🙂

  2. Wow, it’s like 2 decades ago..in 1991 after i finished high school, and came to Lebanon, I sent few mails to my school friends, and one letter was written on perfumed paper to my Saudi girl friend (that time). Then God said: Let there be Internet.. I miss writing letters, also I noticed that my handwriting is awful now. *sigh* .. Let me ask you: have you ever sent an audio tape with your voice recorded on it to relatives or friends living abroad??

    • No, I’ve never done that! An audio tape? Don’t really need to do that anymore because of Skype! And tape? What is a tape? lol We need to take things back to basics..make it simple again.

  3. Zouzeta

    it is a habbit that me and my sis are trying to keep…
    sending a letter every now and than to the states or post cards from where we are spending our vacations….
    sometimes the time between letters is long… but i hope to keep it up🙂
    good luck!!!

  4. Uh, I mailed a post card from one of the yellow boxes back in early September and it still hasn’t arrived. I hear you have better luck if you mail it from the post office directly but I’m not sure if that’s true.

    • Noooo..really? It still hasn’t arrived? Since SEPTEMBER? Mann,,well where is the nearest post office then? I may just have to send another one in the hopes that this one will arrive before the end of the year!

  5. Actually, since I collect postcards, I receive and send regular mail fairly often.

    Commenting on this post made me realize I left my huge collection of postcards back in Lebanon. I am crying on the inside.😦

  6. Simon

    The last time i sent a letter which wasn’t addressed to the Penalties Enforcement Registry trying to get out of a speeding ticket, was in 2001 thanking my x-gf for an unexpected present. even though we lived cross the street from each other, she insisted we write to each other! hehe it was fun

Leave a Reply

