Barcelona, how you haven’t changed..

Barcelona and I had a brief but passionate love affair in the summer of 2007..when I visited the city under the guise of “trying to learn Spanish.”  So much for that!  I spent a month and a half wandering the streets, marveling at the beautiful sites and architecture, ditching Spanish class, and trying my best to fall in love..  What do you expect?  I was barely 20 at the time.

Studying Spanish in Barcelona

Me and my classmates in Barcelona! July 2007

Studying Spanish in Barcelona

yupp..this is what we did instead of going to class..!! Acting a fool in Barcelona, July 2007

So here I am..back in Barcelona again..but this time, accompanied by my family..

Ahhh…Barcelona..you are such a beautiful city..and such a welcomed change after spending the better part of a year and a half in Lebanon, and in Beirut in specific.

You make me appreciate urban planning, architecture (and urban restoration), design interventions, and efficient, well-thought methods of public transportation.  Even though it seems like everyone and their mother got the memo to visit Bacelona this Easter..everything runs smoothly and according to plan.  And I truly admire how you seem to understand the benefit (both social and financial) of making constant improvements to yourself to ensure the happiness of both residents and tourists alike.. (Beirut could learn a thing or two from you…)

Ohhhhh!  and how could I forget to mention that I haven’t heard a HONK in two and a half days!  Even when pedestrians are clearly in the wrong and deserve to be honked at.  Amazing.  Makes me realize how much the noise pollution and traffic, contribute to stress levels in Beirut.  Beirut would be such a pleasure to navigate if it wasn’t for these two things. I wonder if urban planning can take place in the reverse – long after a city has been built??

Anyhow, here are a couple of highlights from my first few days in Barca!  Enjoyyyy…

Plata Catalunya

My Mom and Sister at Plaza Catalunya - Barcelona's nerve center

Design intervention close to Port Olympico

Design intervention close to Port Olimpico, Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain

the famous shrimp near Port Olimpico, Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain

A sculpture in Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain

Beautiful Barcelona..

Barcelona, Spain

Design installation outside a museum in Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain

Another design intervention...

Las Ramblas, Barcelona

on Las Ramblas..the most famous street in Barcelona

Barcelona, Spain

The street performers are everywhere along Las Ramblas..all competing for your attention (and your money!

Barcelona, Spain

A street performer in Barcelona on Las Ramblas..

La Boqueria Market

The Boqueria Market - a Barcelona must see! I've never seen anything quite like it! See the pics below..

La Boqueria Market Barcelona

The pepper vendor..

La Boqueria Market Barcelona

The fruit vendor..

La Boqueria Market Barcelona

The egg vendor..

La Boqueria Market Barcelona

The meat vendor..

La Boqueria Market Barcelona

The fish vendor...

Come back soon for some more!!!

11 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

11 responses to “Barcelona, how you haven’t changed..

  1. I hope you have a great trip 😉
    I wish I was there to see the design installations there, they seem amazing.

  2. Joanna D

    Looks like loads of fun 😀 enjoy! 🙂

  3. love this! especially that you mentioned your appreciation of “urban planning, architecture (and urban restoration), design interventions, and efficient, well-thought methods of public transportation” — I’m going there this summer for the first time and can’t wait to appreciate all of that! Perhaps you’ll recommend places to see/stay/eat later?

    • You are going to have the time of your life in Barca..!!

      In terms of eating, most of the restaurants are fantastic..so anywhere you go, you should be pleased with the food. One word of advice though, DON’T eat along las Ramblas..unless it’s a fastfood chain..the restaurants there are VERY expensive only because it’s the most popular street in Barcelona. A glass of wine will run you 20 EUROS on Las Ramblas!

      Places to stay.. hmm.. How long are you planning on staying for? Accommodation varies depending on length of time. My family and I opted to stay in a furnished apartment over a hotel, coz we thought it would be more comfortable and cost efficient.

      And as for things to do.. There are so many things to do here that you will have a hard time choosing! But the obvious wins are a visit to La Sagrada Familia, Park Guell, Casa Batllo, Casa Mila, a walk down Las Ramblas, eating Paella, taking the teleferique down from Montjuic, taking a walking tour of the gothic area (there’s an absinthe bar somewhere in the gothic area where Hemingway used to go and drink his worries away..you should be able to find it in any guidebook), eating seafood on Port Olympic (clubbing there is great as well!), Tibidabo amusement park is also cool..if only for the views. And if you are a museum buff, you could spend our whole life here going to all of the museums and still not visit them all! :DDDDD

      Let me know if I can help with anything else!

      • Thanks for all the awesome advice! I’m definitely writing all this down before I leave. I’m going with a friend, so I think we might just opt for a double room in a hostel that my friend recommended. If I think of any other questions, I’ll definitely let you know. Thanks again for all the recs!

  4. jo mahmah

    “And I truly admire how you seem to understand the benefit (both social and financial) of making constant improvements to yourself to ensure the happiness of both residents and tourists alike.. (Beirut could learn a thing or two from you…)”

    Beirut ain’t gotta learn nuffin. Barcelona didn’t fight a civil war that arguably hasn’t ended nor was it then occupied by one of their most corrupt neighbors.

    Just cause Barcelona got’s a metro and paved sidewalks don’t mean it can teach this bootyfull city nuffin. Ain’t no one or no place got nuffin on Beirut and if you disagree then why don’t you stay there? I’m sure Barcelona’d love to host such an adoring fan.

  5. I can’t seem to properly browse this site from my droid!!

Leave a Reply

