Gaudi’s Barcelona

Disclaimer: For all of you who are tired of hearing about Barcelona, I apologize!  This city is just too fascinating not to talk about!.. That being said, I promise that this is the last post about Barcelona until I move onto other as intersting material..

To mention Barcelona, and not speak more of Antoni Gaudi, is to commit sin.

Gaudi is Barceona, and Barcelona is Gaudi.  I’m not shy to say that Gaudi’s work is one of the big reasons Barcelona is what it is today.  His work, to put it simply, is not of this world.  When he graduated from architectural school, his professor is documented to have said, “I do not know whether I am giving a degree to a madman or a genius.”

So, to build on the brief introduction I made in my last post , “Antoni Gaudí was a Catalan architect and the best-known representative of Catalan Modernism.  He produced architectural works that are a perfect symbiosis of tradition and innovation.  At the same time, all of his work is marked by the four passions of his life: architecture, nature, religion and his love for Catalonia. 

Gaudí’s work has widespread international appeal.  There are innumerable studies devoted to his way of understanding architecture.  Today, he is admired by both professionals and the general public: his masterpiece, the Sagrada Família, is one of the most visited monuments in Spain.  Between 1984 and 2005 seven of his works were declared World Heritage Sites by Unesco.” source: wikipedia

So, without further ado, I want to introduce you to a few other works by the architectural genuis, Antoni Gaudi.  (His most famous work, La Sagrada Familia, was mentioned in my last post.)  Because I don’t want to bore you, (and also because the internet on the cruise ship I’m on is costing me .65 cents a minute), I shall keep it brief.  I trust that you will look further into these architectural marvels if you feel so inclined.

Park Guell – was initially a residential development commissioned by Gaudi’s beneficiary, Eusebi Guell and built between 1900 – 1914.  The project ended up proving unsuccessful, and Mr. Guell donated it to the municipality of Barcelona, who turned it into a public park. 

Park Guell, Barcelona

The entrance to Park Guell..

Park Guell, Barcelona

Me, my bro, and sis leaning on the famous lizard at Park Guell..

Park Guell, Barcelona

the view from the top of Park Guell..

Park Guell, Barcelona

The ceiling in Park Guell..all of the mosaics are hand made with ceramics..WOW!

Park Guell, Barcelona

Gingerbread houses in Park Guell

Casa Batllo – A residential apartment building built by Gaudi in1887 for the Batllo family. 

Casa Batllo, Barcelona

The exterior of Casa Batllo

Casa Battlo

My favorite part of Casa Batllo..the marine-like ceiling feature..

Casa Batllo, Barcelona

Inside Casa Batllo

Casa Batllo, Barcelona

Me, my Mom, and my Sister on the rooftop of Casa Batllo

Casa Batllo, Barcelona

Beautiful doors inside of Casa Batllo

La Pedrera (Casa Mila) – Another residential building built by Gaudi for the Mila family between 1910 – 1912.  This was the last residential building built by Gaudi.

La Pedrera, Gaudi, Barcelona

La Pedrera

La Pedrera, Gaudi, Barcelona

The iron detail is my favorite part

La Pedrera, Gaudi, Barcelona

On the roof of La Pedrera

La Pedrera, Gaudi, Barcelona

On the roof of La Pedrera

I really hope I haven’t bored you with my trip to Barcelona..and that you (or at least some of you) share the same admiration for Gaudi’s work as I do!

Now,,onto Cannes, Florence, and Rome!!

7 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon, Vacationing

7 responses to “Gaudi’s Barcelona

  1. Ali El Dali

    You’re making me want to go baaaack!

    Keep having fun!😉

  2. Awesome photos.. I’m so excited to go! I love all your Leb posts, but definitely keep blogging about your trip, and posting photos! I think you inspired me to finallyyy get my blog going before I head to Europe and back to Lebanon this summer..

  3. Wow, I keep on looking forward to your posts. Hope you enjoy it all!

  4. pat

    i love ur post! makes my heart ache everytime i remember barcelona! such an amazing city!

  5. Dee

    love the pictures.. I had brazil on the list of places to travel to.. now I have another country😀

  6. So happy to know that you guys are appreciating these posts! Thanks for coming on this journey with me!🙂

  7. GASS

    If Gaudi was still alive I would gave him a Hot Wet Kiss© (HWK) on the front of his bald head. Amazing work! Hope he didn’t commit suicide after being harassed by so many fans?
    Thx for sharing.

Leave a Reply

