Goodbye Beirut. I will miss you.

I don’t even know how to start this post.

I’m so torn inside.

I can’t believe that my adventure in Beirut has come to an end..

But it has..for one reason or another..

I feel bad for not telling you sooner. You see, the truth is.. I’ve known that I wouldn’t be going back to Beirut for a while now. I suppose I just didn’t know how to tell you. Or maybe I was still in shock and didn’t really believe it myself? Who knows.

But the reality of the situation came down on me tonight because my return ticket to Beirut is booked for tomorrow..and I won’t be on that plane.

Goodbye Beirut

Goodbye Beirut

source

I cannot even begin to describe how much this past year and a half has meant to me..it is really beyond words. Lebanon (and the Lebanese people) has forever changed me as a person, and I can only hope that I left a tiny mark somehow, somewhere on Lebanon.

And this blog…this BLOG!!! has been one of the most meaningful things I’ve ever done in my life! EVER. And I am so thankful to Lebanon for inspiring me, and to YOU my readers for following me on this incredible journey! Knowing that you were reading is what kept me going time and time again. And believe you me, there were times I thought about giving up.

This blog means the world to me.. and always will. Always.

Goodbye Beirut.

Goodbye Beirut.

source

Goodbye Beirut.

Goodbye Beirut.

source

Goodbye Beirut

Goodbye Beirut.

source

Pigeon Rocks Beirut

Goodbye Beirut.

source

Beirut I love you.

Beirut I love and will miss you!

source

As for my future plans..well, I haven’t decided whether I’m going to remain in Miami, or try living in Trinidad for the first time in my life. Both of my parents are from there, and although I’ve been visiting Trinidad since I was a baby, I’ve never lived there.

What do I do now?

....

And as for this blog..

Well..

I still have a few posts up my sleeve and I’m going to try and keep ‘This is Beirut’ going for as long as the posts remain relevant. Once I decide where I’m going to be based, that’s when I’ll determine the fate of this blog.. I’m not ready to completely let it go just yet.

I think what hurts me most about all of this is that I didn’t get a chance to say a proper goodbye.. to Beirut..to Lebanon..to all of the really great friends that I made along the way. I hope you can forgive me for that. I will miss you all..especially all of the amazing Lebanese people who made my time in Lebanon THAT much more memorable! Thank you!

113 Comments

Filed under life in Lebanon

113 responses to “Goodbye Beirut. I will miss you.

  1. Danielle, I really enjoy reading your blog and I love your sentiments to my country that you express so eloquently! I am sure that whatever you write about next will be just as enjoyable and I wish you luck in your next adventures wherever they may be🙂

  2. I wish you the best of luck in whatever you choose to do. I feel bad we haven’t had the chance to see each other more.

    Take care of yourself and we will miss you too🙂

    • Thank you Najib! Wishing you the best with everything! Sorry we didn’t get to hang more..Please tell Chahe (or as I call him, Chache) that I will miss him too! (Oh and that Karim as well :D)

    • kiberut

      my names are beirut and iam in kenya. I must realy tour that place to confirm the origin of my name. Danniel, ‘my comrade’

  3. TD

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do… It’s been a pleasure reading your blog… Let me know if you’re ever in Chicago, I moved here recently…

  4. Zouzeta

    Good luck in everything you decide… it was a pleasure reading and following the blog and seeing Lebanon in a new perspective and specially getting to know through that….
    It is always the best vacation destination and you are welcome anytime…
    Adios but au Re-Voir

    • Thank you sweetie! It definitely is the best vacation destination..but a bit harder to live (as everyone knows I imagine!) I will definitely be back soon!😀 Thank you for reading!

  5. NOOOOOOOOO! I’m so mad at you right now! It’s not fair Danielle, you should have come back just once and then gone back to Trini! *sniff* *sniff*

    We’re going to miss you, and your lovely, well-thought out and well-researched posts. We’re going to miss how you used to have a mini panic attack when you saw something bad going on here and the rest of us were to jaded to react to. I really enjoyed reading your blog Danielle and I guess we should expect a “ThisIsTrinidad” blog from you soon?

    *BIG BIG BIG hug*

    P.S. notice how i refuse to say goodbye? hehe

    • Sareeeeeennnn! So, I should’ve seen you that last time before I left! Crap! Man..what a shame! It was such a pleasure getting to know you and seeing you those few times! I had so much fun with you! Please do keep in touch, I know I will be. Good luck with everything and keep up with your blog. And yes, it will be ThisisTrinidad soon! Thank you for always being a support system for me!😀

  6. Ah crap.

    Dani, I wish you all the best. This blog is one of the best written, funniest and just plain *good* offerings about / in / of Lebanon.

    You will be missed.

    Wishing you and yours all the best.

    The Brit.

    • Thank you so much! I can say the same thing about your blog! You were by FAR one of my favorites. Too bad we never got to meet in person..hoping we will one day! Wishing you the best with everything and will continue to follow your adventures as a Brit in Beirut!😀 Much love!

  7. Oh man I’m going to miss you. Not that I saw you all that often, us being in different continents most of the time.. I guess nothing will change all that much, except that I’ll probably have to go to Trinidad to see you now.

    Just give me a heads up for next’s year’s J’ouvert festival and I’m there🙂
    Lots of love. Cheers !

    • haha! Will do Fadi! And you better bring all of your fabulous hair with you! ahah! Such a pleasure meeting you! Wishing you the best with your adventures in Sweden! Will continue to follow you and your blog!

  8. Good luck with whatever you do! I’m sure you will do great🙂

    Echo everyones sentiment – love(d) your blog!

  9. No way!!! We will really Miss you…
    Good Luck in all what you decide to do!!

  10. Gosh that made my eyes all teary.

    The world is a tiny place and I am sure we will meet again my dear.

    And fuck you for leaving me here by myself!

    x

    • Only you Peets! Only you! ahahaha I know I will see you again soon! And I know you can fucking handle yourself mate! haha🙂 Please keep in touch homey..it was brief, but oh such a pleasure! So glad you’re loving Twitter btw!😀 Big KISSSSSS!

  11. I know its been a few weeks but I’m still hoping you change your mind😥
    ❤ you booj

    • Ohhhhh!! I love you so much booj! I can’t even count the many ways you impacted my life. You are such a sweet person and I love you so much! Thank you for all that you did for me..please come and visit me in Miami or Trinidad! I will show you the best of times!

      Miss doing the ghostbuster!!!!

  12. Best of luck Dani. U will be missed

  13. But I never got the chance to meet you!😥
    well reading this blog has been really great, you’re a great person and I look forward to following your blog posts from wherever life takes you, but I know that you will always keep Lebanon and Beirut at heart and tell people how great Beirut is🙂

    • Of course, without a doubt! I am Lebanon’s #1 cheerleader, and will always be! Thank you for reading and please keep in touch!! Who knows, I might just be back in B-City one day..and we can meet!😀

  14. I felt the tears in my eyes … couldn’t hold it .. At work!!! loll ( :
    I am happy that you’ve decided what’s best for you Dani ! Beirut loves you too. You gave this city so much and it will never forget you… such emotions … Beirut makes you feel and live everything the extreme mode.. We all love you Dani and wish you ALL THE BEST in everything!

    • Gass! And now your comment is bring tears to my eyes! Wow. So emotional. But you’re absolutely right when you say that Beirut is all about extremes..there is no middle ground. Who knows, I may be back before you know it! Please please do keep in touch! :DDD Wishing you all of the best too!

  15. Mira

    What a loss for Lebanon – I know that wherever you go and whatever you do your warmth, openness and creativity will keep you a float.

    Mira xxx

    • ahah..I WISH! Oh man Roy..you made working in Lebanon such a pleasure. I swear I could write a post just about you! Please keep in touch and come visit me in Miami! Make sure to bring Nat, Olfi, Reva, and Rasha with you! Love youuu!

  16. I knew it all along! You will be missed..

    • 🙂 I’m sure you did..you know it all (really! you do!). It was a pleasure Mustapha! Maybe we’ll run into each other one day in Beirut!

      • I had a feeling too. There was something off about this time that you left compared to last time. Good luck with whatever you pursue and no matter where life takes you- you know you have Beirut as a haven (of sort).

  17. D!!!!! unbelievable!!!! well it was a great pleasure seeing your perspective of living in Beirut, through its ups and downs!! hopefully ewe will see a This is Miami or this is TNT :p

    Best of luck!!!

    @Alexi13

  18. Alf

    You couldn’t handle Beirut anymore?😛
    Good luck in ur future plans!

  19. VERY few people have influenced the Lebanese blogosphere as much as you did. You’ve certainly engraved your mark here and definitely made a difference. I am certain you’ll be back someday🙂
    Maybe marry a Lebanese dude and stay here for good? *wishful thinking*

    • haha you have no idea how much I considered the option! No idea! haha..I’m sure I’ll be back too..if only to visit all of you! It was such a pleasure meeting you Youmny! Please do keep in touch! And thanks again for your kind words😀

  20. ❤ good luck.
    was a pleasure sharing lunch with you🙂

    • It was a pleasure sharing lunch with YOU! We had some good laughs. I’ll never forget the time I was experiencing my first border clash,,and you came through the production area screaming “Danielle, it’s war!” lol lol..luv ya Ghass! Keep in touch!😀

  21. I don’t personally know you, But i have to tell you that i absolutely liked the way you portrayed lebanon in this beautiful weblog🙂 Glad that Lebanon Impacted you this much.
    Good luck with whatever you decide to do !

  22. From a Lebanese girl in Miami&NY, I feel your sentiments – Beirut is the quintessential lover; once you’re enamored with her, you will never let her go. Somehow, you will return. You know it.😉

  23. You were the reason I pushed and went into all this myself….you’ve done so much for us around here….May all you dream of reveal itself in pure magic and may all your dreams come true wherever you are on the globe.
    Loved every post, every tweet, every moment we spent no matter how brief… ur amazing, keep shining.

    It was an honor meeting a person like you.
    All the best, all the joy,
    Gaby

    • Aww Gaby..you make me want to cry! We had a special, undeniable bond..and I will never forget you! I know that this isn’t goodbye..I know that I will see you again in the future. I wish you the best with everything..Keep being you no matter what! And pleaseeee keep in touch! Big KISS!

  24. Good luck with your new adventures Danielle! Beirut will definitely miss you!

  25. i’m saying this cause i just got here and it would be dumb not seeing youg…(>.<)

  26. Ima miss you Dani! You were one of the closest people to me during a tough time for me… And your blog was my absolute favorite.

    Thank you for everything, and I wish you the best of luck in everything.

    I’ll see you really soon😉

  27. annie

    Nooo wayyy,but I kinda expected that from your posts ,I’m sure you’re thinking about your carrier plans and those certainly don’t make it in the Beirut job market but return to Beirut and don’t forget about us and about the people,it’s because of people like you who are leaving the country,that the country is becoming filthy ,it’s young people like who revive the city but Beirut needs a change,to get out of the shadow of Silence so are the people , so are the youth, and it certainly needs a peaceful revolution but certainly no silence ,so good luck in whatever you decide , and update us about you next destinations , but don’t forget about Beirut and the title of the blog ,lets not lose hope and revive the city whatever the circumstances and try to make a comeback to that charming lost city in the Middle East from time to time ,good luck in everything you do Dany ,no goodbyes but comeebacks

  28. Oh sweetie… Where to begin… It was a real pleasure to meet you and spend time, although too little, with you. But I am sure, it is not adieu, but just au revoir. You will be back to this part of the world.
    Good luck on your new adventures, and keep us posted through the blog, whatever you might name it next.
    Best, best wishes for all you will do until we meet again. xxxxx🙂

    • Mich Mich! I promise this isn’t goodbye! I will see you again! I wish you all the best in the future and really hope we do keep in touch! Goodluck with Michcafe and everything else along the way! It was such a pleasure meeting you! Big kiss!!

  29. I really don’t know what to say right now. But i wish you happiness and hope to see you back in lebanon at least for a short visit. Lebanon will always miss you and your daily stories that were written on this blog. It was amazing to follow your blog and stories. Lebanon will miss you🙂

  30. Riham

    Daniii! I’m really sad to hear this. I saw the tweet this morning quickly on my phone and knew that you had probably made a post or a tweet before it saying that you won’t be coming back.:/
    Trust me that we have loved having you in Lebanon as much as you loved being there.
    But here’s the silver lining: you promised me a trip to Dublin, and I expect you to do it for your next vacation. As well as the fact that I almost went to Miami in April then went to NY instead. If you stay in Miami, you’re bound to see me there in the future!

    <3333

    • Riham! You were one of the sweetest people that I had the pleasure of meeting in Lebanon! Really! Your energy, your positive outlook, your bubbly cheerful personality..!! I missed you when you left and now I have no choice but to come and visit you in Dublin! Turns out I have Irish blood..so a trip does seem in order, now doesn’t it!? Please please please keep in touch!

  31. Marie

    I’ve been reading your blog this past year but never commented.
    I have to say your blog opened up my eyes about the good things about Lebanon. I left the country to begin my University studies and was feeling a lot of spite towards it… until I read your posts. I even felt homesick. I still hope to read about your journey in Trinidad. Good luck!

    • Marie, thank you for commenting! It means so much to me that I was able to show you Lebanon from a different perspective. It’s comments like yours that make me realize that my blog had a purpose! Thanks again!

  32. Sietske

    You’ll be back. Once Beirut has grown on you . . . . . I’ll miss your posts, but good luck with whatever it is you’re going to do.
    Sietske (soon to be in Beirut again)

  33. I can’t believe you took this decision before I got the chance to meet u in person😦 You became Lebanon’s sweetheart through your lovely blog, seeing Beirut in your own way and from an angle we all took for granted. Beirut loves you and will miss you, I’m sure you will be back fr a visit at least🙂 Through your blog we saw your beautiful personality and witty mind shine. I look forward to reading your updates and where your next journey will be. Would love to read your future experiences and encounters, please keep in touch🙂

    • awww Sahar! What a sweet comment! I don’t even know what to say..I’m lost for words. Thank you so much for everything! It’s amazing how two people can build such a relationship through our blogs and Twitter accounts!🙂 I really do hope that one day I get to meet you in person..wherever and whenever that might be! I wish you all the best in the future, and I will make sure to keep on checking up on your blog! You were one of my favorites (but I’m sure you already knew that!)

  34. Jennifer

    You are such a beautiful and wise young lady. I wish you all the best on your next adventure. Go where your heart takes you and be safe.

  35. Sebastian

    Happy to see you move on to a new adventure. Can’t wait to see what new and exciting posts you’ll cook up for us next….HHMMMMM perhaps “This is Trinidad”?????? Sending only good energy out to ya😉

  36. Good luck D. Will miss ur cool posts.
    I have a feeling you’ll be back in no time…
    Arabic saying: winds push ships to drift towards unplanned destinations.

    W.

  37. What? Nooo! You can’t just leave without warning, no fair! Grrr! But i sincerely wish you the best in your next step… Your blog was not only one of my favorites in Lebanon, but like one of my favorites, ever! And i’m so going to miss checking it for recent updates! Don’t stop writing, take your writing wherever you go, its a universal language, blog is! hehe and remember, you’ve still got an open invitation to Tripoli! Yes, all the best my dear!🙂

  38. Dani! I jst saw ur tweet and rushed to read this post! Thanks so much for having this blog…it was one of the blogs I saw which inspired me to start my own.
    Whatever u do, dont ever stop writing and blogging! Beirut will miss u… =)

    Wish you allllllllllllllllll the best! Much luv and respect darlin’ ❤ )

    • Thank you sweetie! It was such a pleasure virtually meeting and following you! I definitely learned a lot about a different aspect of Lebanese society! Please keep it up! I will continue to look out for your posts as well!🙂 Keep on keeping on!

  39. I’m not a blogger or an active member of the twitter community, I seem to land on critical posts like this one by act of sheer randomness. I got to this through clicking your Google+ profile.

    You have been loved and will always be. I hope that the world smiles back at you my friend.

  40. Sad you are not coming back…
    But, at the same time

    I am so happy for you. That is the beauty of spontaneity.
    Looking forward to a spin-off of This is Beirut. I am sure you have many posts under your sleeve.

    I really enjoyed meeting you. Hope to bump into you in the future somewhere

    Good luck girl!!!

    • Thank you Maggie! Yes, very true..that is the beauty of spontaneity!🙂 But please do keep in touch! I will be following your adventures as well! :)))) Please tell Khaled and Noor that I say goodbye and it was a pleasure meeting them!

  41. michelle hajjar

    😦 … i luved ur blog and i’m sad to hear that ur not coming back..wish u the best!!

  42. Jo

    It has been a pleasure virtually meeting you Danielle.
    For a person who rarely reads a book, i have surely spent a lot of time reading your posts.

    I feel like I know you and I cant shake away that sadness from my heart because your leaving.

    Hope you enjoyed your time in my country and if you did, please spread the word, we need it🙂

    Good luck in your future and don’t forget to stay in touch😀

  43. Oh NO!! This is heart breaking! I’ve become so accustomed to checking your blog in anticipation of a great read.
    I’ve always hoped I’d meet you one day on one of my trips to Lebanon. it saddens me that it won’t happen!

    I had such great time reading about Lebanon through your experiences, and now that it will come to a halt, I really have to thank you for the effort and time that you have poured into this blog to provide us with such enjoyable posts.

    I wish you the very best of happiness and success in your future. You are an amazing blogger who took the time to read and reply to every reader. I always felt that my opinion matters on your blog.

    See you in Beirut as I know you’ll be back, even if it’s for a short visit.

  44. MOM

    Danielle, the intensity of your feelings towards Beirut and the Lebanese people has always come through clearly in your blog, but this post had a mega dose of emotion. I know what a painful step this was for you … to have to say goodbye (at least for now). Your post brought tears to my eyes … which is understandable, since I am your mother. The fact that many of your readers reacted so strongly, some of them even admitting that the news of your leaving brought them close to tears also, is testament to the amazing work you have done on your blog. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about Beirut and the Lebanese culture through your writing and I will certainly miss it. This was YOUR FIRST BABY and I am sure it is an accomplishment you will remember with pride and longing your entire life. You have been able to “connect” with your readers in a very unique way and I hope you never ever doubt the gift that you have. You will surely “give birth” to other “babies”, but this one will forever be extra special in your heart … I know … I’m your Mom … and I’m so proud of you.

  45. Danielle,

    I hope you come back one day, if only for a short visit. Maybe then we could meet, like really meet.

    I am sure you will be fine with whatever choice you make. Just give it time and don’t be quick to judge. Whether Trinidad or Miami or any other place in the world, follow your heart.

    I look forward to keep following your writings, wherever you may be. And I am very excited for you🙂

    Much love.

    • Posh! Thank you so much for your support! You have no idea how much it means to me! I hope we meet (really meet) one day too! I know we have a lot in common!! Please keep in touch in the future.. Much love to you too!

  46. jenna

    I hate to say this but you killed your blog, you just made it clear that nothing’s interesting about Lebanon anymore and won’t continue posting in this blog because you don’t know where you stand in your life right now, so why not keep a blog about your future destination and carrier and keep posting in this blog too, because you made it clear you abandonned Lebanon and you’re only coming back for short trips ,that if you’re coming back ,you ended it in a sour way by saying Goodbye and no retuns

    • Hi Jenna! I will definitey be returning to Lebanon in the future! I have too many fond memories and good friends not to. Lebanon is and always will be a big part of my life! I will try to keep this blog alive for as long as possible…wherever I go! Thanks for ur comments..

  47. gotta do what feels right! this was just another step to whatever is coming down the road for you. i loved reading your blog.. and it inspired me to write my own stories through blog format.. you really have a way with your creative writing and keeping your audience entertained through every single word.

  48. what happened i left for a week!???? and now i read this!!!!why??? not fair l! i am so sad really… it must be very hard to close your blog so many people are used to read it… at least i am one…

    anyway let’s finish on a positive point first i wish you all the luck and i am sure you will succeed in your next endeavors… but can i suggest something just to keep it going ask bloggers you trust to post relevant blog posts maybe you never know it will be a solution…

    i hate goodbyes😦 take good care

    P.S: hope you will read my comment i am a little bit late

    • That’s a great suggestion Jo! I really intend on keeping it alive as long as possible..as long as I have relevant things to write about! I’m so touched by all of these beautiful comments. I had no idea my blog has so much reach! Please do keep in touch! This isn’t the last of me!

  49. AlainLb

    Nothing makes the earth seem so spacious as to have friends at a distance; they make the latitudes and longitudes. ~Henry David Thoreau

    Good bye and good luck.

  50. wow. missed it by that much. thanks for bringing beirut to life while I was waiting and waiting to get here. Your stories were/are great and the city is perfectly reflected in them. Have a great life in the caribbean- the 2nd best sea on the planet.

  51. hello Danielle,
    i have just discovered this blog and read some posts, i loved your sincere right from the heart writings.you have learned in 1 year and a half about lebanese society more than a lebanese can realize in a lifetime (even dating details (: ) it’s such a shame to loose a person like you but i guess beirut is not enough to satisfy your thirsty soul so farewell friend wish you the best of luck !! and maybe… just maybe in the future you will miss the lebanese nightlife and decide to come back.

  52. htj

    All good things must come to an end. The adventures must continue. I have thoroughly enjoyed every post. I wish you the best of luck in whatever you decide to do next.

  53. COMMERCE BOOT CAMP
    Well The adventure continues till death but we need to enjoy in life because it come once .

  54. Tony

    I just spent 2 hours reading your stuff, for I had just discovered you. (Yes I do realize I’m VERY late) Anyways, I loved everything you wrote, and once I read this , I felt heartbroken. In2 hours, I got to know you and then BAM it had to all end. Yes, i’m getting over sentimental, but truth is the blog has surprisingly moved me alot, and I wish to convey that message to you.

  55. Pingback: Goodbye Trinidad | This is Trinidad

  56. Pingback: Background information « With a million dollars, I would create the Caribbean's first e-commerce site dedicated to Caribbean fashion, lifestyle, and design.

  57. Pingback: So you have a degree…now what? | Writing Red Baron

  58. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging
    on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be exciting to read through
    content from other writers and use something from their websites.

Leave a Reply

